Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:30 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:30 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Thursday, December 1st, 2022:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 41 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 123 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 353 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 669 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 1190 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 23:44 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 8:44 am (GMT +9)
3.7

10 km
18 km east of Nara, Japan 11 reportsMore
Dec 1, 2022 23:29 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 2:59 am (GMT +3:30)
4.2

10 km
45 km northeast of Bandar-e Lengeh, Hormozgan, Iran More
Dec 1, 2022 22:50 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 11:50 pm (GMT +1)
3.4
Western Mediterranean, 53 km north of Sassari, Sardinia, Italy More
Dec 1, 2022 22:35 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 6:35 am (GMT +8)
3.3

10 km
Kazakhstan, 138 km northeast of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 1, 2022 22:27 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 6:27 am (GMT +8)
3.4

10 km
Kazakhstan, 137 km northeast of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 1, 2022 22:27 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 4:27 pm (GMT -6)
3.3

3 km
39 km northeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 22:26 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 1:26 am (GMT +3)
3.4

5 km
34 km south of Grozny, Chechen Republic, Russia 1 reportMore
Dec 1, 2022 22:22 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT -8)
3.4

26 km
92 km southwest of Guadalupe Victoria, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 22:19 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 11:19 am (GMT +13)
4.5

573 km
South Pacific Ocean, Fiji More
Dec 1, 2022 22:19 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 4:19 pm (GMT -6)
3.9

3 km
1.4 km southwest of Los Reyes de Salgado, Michoacan, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 22:19 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 2:19 pm (GMT -8)
3.2

7 km
North Pacific Ocean, 34 km southwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 22:13 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 2:13 pm (GMT -8)
3.4

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 43 km northwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 22:09 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 4:09 pm (GMT -6)
3.5

36 km
18 km west of Rio Grande, Villa de Tututepec de Melchor Ocampo, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 22:06 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 6:06 am (GMT +8)
3.1

10 km
94 km southeast of Qapqal, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 1, 2022 21:38 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 1:38 pm (GMT -8)
3.7

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km northwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 21:31 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 10:31 am (GMT +13)
4.3

100 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand More
Dec 1, 2022 21:31 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 2:31 pm (GMT -7)
3.8

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 44 km south of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico More
Dec 1, 2022 21:03 GMT
Dec 1, 2022 12:03 pm (GMT -9)
3.0

204 km
59 mi west of Homer, Kenai Peninsula, Alaska, USA 1 reportMore
Dec 1, 2022 21:02 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 2:02 am (GMT +5)
3.2

10 km
Azad Kashmir, Pakistan, 36 km southwest of Bāramūla, Kashmir North, India More
Dec 1, 2022 20:56 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 4:56 am (GMT +8)
3.5

10 km
104 km west of Kucha, Xinjiang, China More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.7 x 1011 joules (240 megawatt hours, equivalent to 207 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings