Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:39 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:39 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes during December 2022:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 135 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1271 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3391 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7436 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 17530 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 5.1 or higher (20 out of 29771 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 30, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 30, 2022 21:53 GMT
Dec 30, 2022 4:53 pm (GMT -5)
5.2

18 km
65 Km SW of Changuillo, Peru 2 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2022 21:02 GMT
Dec 30, 2022 11:02 pm (GMT +2)
5.1

10 km
South of Africa More
Dec 30, 2022 09:42 GMT
Dec 30, 2022 10:42 pm (GMT +13)
5.4

10 km
78 Km SE of ‘Ohonua, Tonga More
Dec 30, 2022 05:19 GMT
Dec 30, 2022 12:19 am (GMT -5)
5.3

8.9 km
287 Km W of Puerto Chacabuco, Chile 1 reportMore
Thursday, December 29, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 29, 2022 23:26 GMT
Dec 30, 2022 5:26 am (GMT +6)
5.3

10 km
267 Km SW of Sibolga, Indonesia 2 reportsMore
Dec 29, 2022 13:13 GMT
Dec 29, 2022 9:13 pm (GMT +8)
5.2

141 km
10 Km SSW of Pondaguitan, Philippines More
Dec 29, 2022 06:10 GMT
Dec 28, 2022 6:10 pm (GMT -12)
5.2

133 km
Tonga: South of the Fiji Islands More
Wednesday, December 28, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 28, 2022 21:11 GMT
Dec 28, 2022 4:11 pm (GMT -5)
5.3

74 km
NEAR COAST OF SOUTHERN PERU 11 reportsMore
Dec 28, 2022 17:16 GMT
Dec 29, 2022 1:16 am (GMT +8)
5.6

10 km
China: Kyrgyzstan-Xinjiang Border Region More
Dec 28, 2022 16:34 GMT
Dec 29, 2022 3:34 am (GMT +11)
6.0

10 km
New Caledonia: 288 Km SE of Isangel, Vanuatu More
Dec 28, 2022 07:44 GMT
Dec 28, 2022 5:44 pm (GMT +10)
5.2

43 km
114 Km SSE of Kuril’sk, Russia More
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 27, 2022 23:43 GMT
Dec 27, 2022 6:43 pm (GMT -5)
5.1

10 km
103 Km WNW of Valparaíso, Chile 14 reportsMore
Dec 27, 2022 01:00 GMT
Dec 27, 2022 2:00 pm (GMT +13)
5.5

10 km
Tonga Islands 1 reportMore
Monday, December 26, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 26, 2022 19:50 GMT
Dec 27, 2022 7:50 am (GMT +12)
5.3

334 km
New Zealand More
Dec 26, 2022 12:21 GMT
Dec 26, 2022 3:21 pm (GMT +3)
5.5

10 km
Eritrea: 64 Km ENE of Ādīgrat, Ethiopia 3 reportsMore
Dec 26, 2022 12:05 GMT
Dec 26, 2022 9:05 pm (GMT +9)
5.1

10 km
Izu Islands, Japan Region 1 reportMore
Dec 26, 2022 09:35 GMT
Dec 26, 2022 7:35 am (GMT -2)
5.1

19 km
South Sandwich Islands Region More
Dec 26, 2022 05:27 GMT
Dec 25, 2022 5:27 pm (GMT -12)
5.5

517 km
Fiji Region More
Sunday, December 25, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 25, 2022 19:53 GMT
Dec 25, 2022 11:53 am (GMT -8)
5.1

10 km
Southern East Pacific Rise More
Dec 25, 2022 19:45 GMT
Dec 25, 2022 11:45 am (GMT -8)
5.4

10 km
Southern East Pacific Rise More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1014 joules (50.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 43260 tons of TNT or 2.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings