Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 18, 2022 02:32 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Aug 18, 2022 02:32 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes during July 2022:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 142 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1306 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3863 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 8396 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 17406 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
During July 2022, there were 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 7 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 142 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1306 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 3863 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 8396 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 17406 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.6 | Arabian Sea, 15 km SE of Pasni, Gwadar, Balochistan, Pakistan -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 5.1 or higher (20 out of 31121 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 31, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Jul 31, 2022 23:30 GMT
Aug 1, 2022 1:30 am (GMT +2)
3.4

3 km
Spain: SW CARBONERAS.AL 444 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 22:27 GMT
Aug 1, 2022 8:27 am (GMT +10)
5.2

34 km
15 Km SW of Aitape, Papua New Guinea More
Jul 31, 2022 18:50 GMT
Aug 1, 2022 4:50 am (GMT +10)
5.4

10 km
Southeast of Honshu, Japan More
Jul 31, 2022 18:48 GMT
Aug 1, 2022 2:48 am (GMT +8)
5.1

10 km
9 Km SSE of San Ramon, Philippines 82 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 17:48 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 5:48 pm (GMT +0)
5.2

1.1 km
Iceland: 5.2 Km SW of Fagradalsfjall 57 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 17:47 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 5:47 pm (GMT +0)
5.5

2.7 km
Iceland: 3.3 Km NE of Grindavík 145 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 16:37 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 12:37 pm (GMT -4)
4.7

10 km
17 Km WNW of San Fernando De Monte Cristi, Dominican Republic 99 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 13:52 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT +5)
5.1

10 km
12 Km S of Pasni, Pakistan 1 reportMore
Jul 31, 2022 13:42 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 6:42 pm (GMT +5)
5.6

10 km
14 Km SSE of Pasni, Pakistan 5 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 11:27 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 7:27 pm (GMT +8)
4.9

10 km
Near Baguio City, Cordillera, Philippines 40 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 03:09 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 5:09 am (GMT +2)
?

n/a
Near Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa (unconfirmed) 30 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 03:07 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 6:07 am (GMT +3)
3.9

6 km
Greece: 7 Km E From Palairos Aitoloakarnania 34 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 03:03 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 10:03 am (GMT +7)
5.6

56 km
Indonesia: Di Laut 44 Km Tenggara Calang-Aceh Jaya 1 reportMore
Jul 31, 2022 02:28 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 8:13 am (GMT +5:45)
5.1

10 km
Near Biratnagar, Province 1, Nepal 348 reportsMore
Jul 31, 2022 00:50 GMT
Jul 30, 2022 10:50 pm (GMT -2)
5.1

35 km
South Sandwich Islands Region More
Saturday, July 30, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Jul 30, 2022 23:12 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 1:12 am (GMT +2)
3.5

3 km
CROATIA 25 reportsMore
Jul 30, 2022 20:48 GMT
Jul 30, 2022 8:48 pm (GMT +0)
4.3

3.7 km
Iceland: 3.3 Km ENE of Fagradalsfjall 22 reportsMore
Jul 30, 2022 20:00 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 1:30 am (GMT +5:30)
3.9

10 km
Near Tura, Meghalaya, India 23 reportsMore
Jul 30, 2022 19:56 GMT
Jul 31, 2022 1:26 am (GMT +5:30)
?

n/a
Near Angul, Odisha, India (unconfirmed) 30 reportsMore
Jul 30, 2022 13:31 GMT
Jul 30, 2022 8:31 am (GMT -5)
5.4

10 km
Colombia 3 reportsMore
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8 x 1013 joules (22.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 19227 tons of TNT or 1.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings