Help Ukraine

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 03:08 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated May 19, 2022 03:08 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes on Friday, May 13th, 2022:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 38 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 120 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 252 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 808 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
On Friday, May 13th, 2022, there were 1 quake of magnitude 5.3, 38 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 120 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 252 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 808 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 66 km SE of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 1219 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, May 13, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
May 13, 2022 23:52 GMT
May 14, 2022 4:22 am (GMT +4:30)
3.9

130 km
Badakhshan, Afghanistan, 12 km southwest of Ishqoshim, Tajikistan
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 23:08 GMT
May 14, 2022 8:08 am (GMT +9)
3.6

13 km
Ishikawa, 89 km north of Toyama, Japan
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 22:27 GMT
May 13, 2022 4:27 pm (GMT -6)
3.4

5 km
14 km southeast of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 26 reports
More
May 13, 2022 22:18 GMT
May 14, 2022 2:48 am (GMT +4:30)
3.7

233 km
49 km east of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 22:18 GMT
May 14, 2022 2:48 am (GMT +4:30)
4.3

209 km
66 km southeast of Faizabad, Faīẕābād, Badakhshan, Afghanistan
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
May 13, 2022 22:15 GMT
May 13, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -7)
?

n/a
16 mi east of Ventura, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 14 reports
More
May 13, 2022 22:11 GMT
May 13, 2022 4:11 pm (GMT -6)
3.4

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 38 km southwest of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
May 13, 2022 22:08 GMT
May 14, 2022 1:08 am (GMT +3)
4.3

6.1 km
Aegean Sea, 20 km south of Castro, Chios, North Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT - 59 reports
More
May 13, 2022 21:55 GMT
May 14, 2022 1:55 am (GMT +4)
4.1

10 km
North of Franz Josef Land
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 21:51 GMT
May 13, 2022 4:51 pm (GMT -5)
3.4

26 km
16 km north of Cuautla, Morelos, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 21:39 GMT
May 13, 2022 1:39 pm (GMT -8)
3.2

62 km
Alaska, USA
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 21:34 GMT
May 14, 2022 6:34 am (GMT +9)
4.1

353 km
Banda Sea, 278 km south of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 21:08 GMT
May 14, 2022 1:38 am (GMT +4:30)
3.8

9 km
56 km east of Bāfq, Bafgh, Yazd Province, Iran
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 20:54 GMT
May 13, 2022 11:54 pm (GMT +3)
3.6

106 km
Aegean Sea, 70 km southwest of Kos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
More
May 13, 2022 20:41 GMT
May 14, 2022 2:11 am (GMT +5:30)
3.3

64 km
13 km west of Hāthras, Hathras, Uttar Pradesh, India
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
May 13, 2022 20:28 GMT
May 13, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT -5)
3.2

16 km
19 km northwest of Rio Grande, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.1 x 1011 joules (224 megawatt hours, equivalent to 193 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel