2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jul 2, 2022 20:30 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated Jul 2, 2022 20:30 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes during May 2022:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 11 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 145 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1214 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3523 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7594 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 20137 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
During May 2022, there were 1 quake of magnitude 7.2, 11 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 145 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 1214 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 3523 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 7594 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 20137 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.7 | South Pacific Ocean, 247 km NE of Nukalofa, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 5.1 or higher (20 out of 32625 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, May 31, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
May 31, 2022 22:12 GMT
May 31, 2022 4:12 pm (GMT -6)
2.5

6 km
38 Km ENE of Thompson Springs, Utah 21 reportsMore
May 31, 2022 11:38 GMT
May 31, 2022 9:38 pm (GMT +10)
?

n/a
Near Frankston East, Victoria, Australia (unconfirmed) 42 reportsMore
May 31, 2022 08:40 GMT
May 31, 2022 3:40 am (GMT -5)
3.1

11 km
12 Km NW of Newbern, Tennessee 30 reportsMore
May 31, 2022 07:10 GMT
May 31, 2022 2:10 pm (GMT +7)
5.2

43 km
114 Km WSW of Bandar Lampung, Indonesia 6 reportsMore
May 31, 2022 03:25 GMT
May 31, 2022 1:25 pm (GMT +10)
3.0

2.7 km
Australia: Kilcoy, QLD 457 reportsMore
Monday, May 30, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 30, 2022 15:35 GMT
May 30, 2022 4:35 pm (GMT +1)
?

n/a
Near Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed) 42 reportsMore
May 30, 2022 14:36 GMT
May 30, 2022 3:36 pm (GMT +1)
3.8

7 km
United Kingdom: WEM,SHROPSHIRE 1688 reportsMore
May 30, 2022 14:28 GMT
May 30, 2022 5:28 pm (GMT +3)
3.4

7 km
Near Gant'iadi, Abkhazia, Georgia 99 reportsMore
Sunday, May 29, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
May 29, 2022 20:15 GMT
May 29, 2022 9:15 pm (GMT +1)
4.3

5 km
Morocco: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR 21 reportsMore
May 29, 2022 19:12 GMT
May 29, 2022 3:12 pm (GMT -4)
2.3

7 km
16 Km S of Louisa, Virginia 20 reportsMore
May 29, 2022 17:49 GMT
May 30, 2022 6:49 am (GMT +13)
5.1

348 km
New Zealand More
May 29, 2022 16:51 GMT
May 29, 2022 6:51 pm (GMT +2)
3.1

16 km
Germany: Albstadt D 140 reportsMore
May 29, 2022 07:45 GMT
May 29, 2022 6:45 pm (GMT +11)
5.3

20 km
New Caledonia: Southeast of the Loyalty Islands More
May 29, 2022 06:55 GMT
May 29, 2022 3:55 pm (GMT +9)
5.1

43 km
Near East Coast of Honshu, Japan 19 reportsMore
May 29, 2022 00:27 GMT
May 28, 2022 9:27 pm (GMT -3)
?

n/a
Near Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires C.F., Argentina (unconfirmed) 74 reportsMore
Saturday, May 28, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
May 28, 2022 23:37 GMT
May 28, 2022 8:37 pm (GMT -3)
?

n/a
Near Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires C.F., Argentina (unconfirmed) 45 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.3 x 1013 joules (17.5 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 15072 tons of TNT or 0.9 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel