Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 00:57 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 00:57 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes during October 2022:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 124 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 1248 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3501 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7125 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 19650 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.9 | South Pacific Ocean, 68 km SW of Ica, Region Ica, Peru -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 5.1 or higher (20 out of 31656 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, October 31, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 31, 2022 21:42 GMT
Oct 31, 2022 10:42 pm (GMT +1)
5.4

286 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 42 km west of Castrovillari, Cosenza, Calabria, Italy 31 reportsMore
Oct 31, 2022 13:23 GMT
5.1

10 km
South Atlantic Ocean More
Oct 31, 2022 13:22 GMT
Oct 31, 2022 8:22 am (GMT -5)
5.6

148 km
Loreto, Peru 11 reportsMore
Oct 31, 2022 08:14 GMT
Oct 31, 2022 2:14 am (GMT -6)
5.8

10 km
South Pacific Ocean More
Sunday, October 30, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 30, 2022 22:21 GMT
Oct 31, 2022 5:21 am (GMT +7)
5.2

179 km
44 km southwest of Rantauprapat, North Sumatra, Indonesia More
Oct 30, 2022 21:27 GMT
Oct 31, 2022 9:27 am (GMT +12)
5.2

100 km
South Pacific Ocean, 541 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMore
Oct 30, 2022 18:24 GMT
Oct 31, 2022 7:24 am (GMT +13)
5.3

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 233 km northeast of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
Oct 30, 2022 00:09 GMT
Oct 29, 2022 7:09 pm (GMT -5)
5.3

71 km
49 km southwest of Ica, Region Ica, Peru More
Saturday, October 29, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Oct 29, 2022 23:35 GMT
Oct 30, 2022 12:35 pm (GMT +13)
5.3

53 km
Tasman, 100 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand 22 reportsMore
Oct 29, 2022 20:45 GMT
Oct 29, 2022 3:45 pm (GMT -5)
5.1

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Ica, Region Ica, Peru More
Oct 29, 2022 20:34 GMT
Oct 30, 2022 7:34 am (GMT +11)
5.4

10 km
Coral Sea, 93 km south of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 4 reportsMore
Oct 29, 2022 19:06 GMT
Oct 30, 2022 5:06 am (GMT +10)
5.2

40 km
Solomon Sea, 165 km south of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea More
Oct 29, 2022 18:51 GMT
Oct 30, 2022 5:51 am (GMT +11)
5.1

43 km
Coral Sea, 75 km southeast of Kirakira, Solomon Islands More
Oct 29, 2022 17:24 GMT
Oct 30, 2022 6:24 am (GMT +13)
5.4

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 205 km southwest of Apia, Tuamasaga, Samoa More
Oct 29, 2022 11:40 GMT
Oct 29, 2022 7:40 am (GMT -4)
5.1

266 km
Oruro, 83 km southwest of Llallagua, Bolivia More
Oct 29, 2022 00:09 GMT
Oct 28, 2022 7:09 pm (GMT -5)
5.8

7.7 km
South Pacific Ocean, 72 km southwest of Ica, Region Ica, Peru 1 reportMore
Friday, October 28, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 28, 2022 23:35 GMT
Oct 28, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT -5)
5.2

4.2 km
South Pacific Ocean, 75 km southwest of Ica, Region Ica, Peru 1 reportMore
Oct 28, 2022 22:52 GMT
Oct 28, 2022 5:52 pm (GMT -5)
5.3

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 67 km southwest of Ica, Region Ica, Peru 1 reportMore
Oct 28, 2022 20:22 GMT
Oct 28, 2022 3:22 pm (GMT -5)
5.9

16 km
South Pacific Ocean, 68 km southwest of Ica, Region Ica, Peru 4 reportsMore
Oct 28, 2022 03:56 GMT
Oct 27, 2022 3:56 pm (GMT -12)
5.5

52 km
South Pacific Ocean 1 reportMore
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1014 joules (57.9 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 49834 tons of TNT or 3.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings