Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:29 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:29 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Tuesday, January 24th, 2023:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 6
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 38 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 128 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 264 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 516 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 955 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 GMT (20 quakes)
Jan 24, 2023 23:59 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 8:59 am (GMT +9)
3.2

134 km
Molucca Sea, 70 km south of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia More
Jan 24, 2023 23:52 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 5:52 pm (GMT -6)
3.0

33 km
33 km southeast of San Isidro, Costa Rica More
Jan 24, 2023 23:49 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 5:49 pm (GMT -6)
3.2

43 km
North Pacific Ocean, 24 km south of Acajutla, El Salvador More
Jan 24, 2023 23:35 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 7:35 pm (GMT -4)
3.2

11 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 91 km northeast of San Juan, Puerto Rico More
Jan 24, 2023 23:15 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 8:15 am (GMT +9)
3.4

46 km
North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan More
Jan 24, 2023 22:57 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 7:57 am (GMT +9)
3.3

43 km
Inland Sea of Japan, 20 km southwest of Matsuyama, Ehime, Japan 2 reportsMore
Jan 24, 2023 22:54 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 7:54 am (GMT +9)
4.6

508 km
Philippine Sea, Japan More
Jan 24, 2023 22:54 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 4:54 pm (GMT -6)
3.7

131 km
Veracruz, 43 km north of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Jan 24, 2023 22:36 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 4:36 pm (GMT -6)
3.2

126 km
21 km southeast of Jesus Carranza, Veracruz, Mexico More
Jan 24, 2023 22:24 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 7:24 am (GMT +9)
4.3

175 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia, 294 km northeast of Lospalos, Timor-Leste More
Jan 24, 2023 22:18 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 11:18 am (GMT +13)
3.2

169 km
South Pacific Ocean, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 24, 2023 22:10 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 11:10 pm (GMT +1)
3.8

39 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 136 km south of Birkirkara, Malta 1 reportMore
Jan 24, 2023 21:44 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 11:44 pm (GMT +2)
3.5

197 km
Aegean Sea, 39 km east of Naxos, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece More
Jan 24, 2023 21:43 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 10:43 pm (GMT +1)
3.0

10 km
Ionian Sea, Greece More
Jan 24, 2023 21:23 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 5:23 am (GMT +8)
4.0

10 km
Molucca Sea, 266 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia More
Jan 24, 2023 20:58 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 2:58 pm (GMT -6)
3.5

11 km
37 km south of Matamoros, Puebla, Mexico More
Jan 24, 2023 20:47 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 12:47 pm (GMT -8)
?

n/a
25 mi northeast of Santa Barbara, California, USA (unconfirmed) 6 reportsMore
Jan 24, 2023 20:47 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 2:47 pm (GMT -6)
3.9

20 km
North Pacific Ocean, 133 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico More
Jan 24, 2023 20:47 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 4:47 am (GMT +8)
3.0

9 km
15 km southwest of Qilian, Haibei Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, Qinghai, China More
Jan 24, 2023 20:36 GMT
Jan 24, 2023 5:36 pm (GMT -3)
3.4

217 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 116 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.1 x 1011 joules (253 megawatt hours, equivalent to 218 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings