Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:41 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:41 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes on Wednesday, January 25th, 2023:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 41 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 148 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 236 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 487 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | 30 km SE of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China -

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 3 or higher (20 out of 916 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (20 quakes)
Jan 25, 2023 23:51 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 6:51 pm (GMT -5)
?

n/a
5.3 mi south of Concord, Merrimack County, New Hampshire, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 83 reports
More
Jan 25, 2023 23:40 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 6:40 pm (GMT -5)
3.5

10 km
South Pacific Ocean, 159 km west of Valdivia, Los Rios Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 23:38 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 2:38 am (GMT +3)
4.3

10 km
Āfar, 161 km southeast of Mek'ele, Tigray, Ethiopia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 23:21 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 7:21 am (GMT +8)
4.9

10 km
30 km southeast of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 25, 2023 23:14 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 11:14 am (GMT +12)
4.5

514 km
South Pacific Ocean
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:58 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 6:58 am (GMT +8)
3.3

7.4 km
89 km northeast of Cundeelee, Kalgoorlie/Boulder, Western Australia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:52 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 6:52 pm (GMT -4)
3.0

5 km
4 km southeast of Sabaneta, Provincia de Santiago Rodriguez, Dominican Republic
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:52 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 11:52 pm (GMT +1)
3.4

10 km
39 km east of Chebba, Gouvernorat de Mahdia, Tunisia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:49 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 3:49 pm (GMT -7)
3.8

12 km
81 km north of Santa Rosalia, Mulegé, Baja California Sur, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:43 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 10:43 pm (GMT +0)
?

n/a
31 km southeast of Reading, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 4 reports
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:34 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 4:04 am (GMT +5:30)
3.6

542 km
14 km east of Tezpur, Sonitpur, Assam, India
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:27 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 8:27 am (GMT +10)
4.7

35 km
North Pacific Ocean, 174 km north of Agrihan Village, Northern Mariana Islands
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:21 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 7:21 pm (GMT -3)
3.7

215 km
155 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 22:08 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 5:08 pm (GMT -5)
3.3

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 37 km southwest of Concepcion, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 21:54 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 5:54 am (GMT +8)
3.2

10 km
151 km south of Chotan, Hotan Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 21:53 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 5:53 am (GMT +8)
3.2

10 km
158 km south of Chotan, Hotan Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 21:53 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 2:53 am (GMT +5)
4.0

192 km
63 km east of Khorugh, Gorno-Badakhshan, Tajikistan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 21:52 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 10:52 pm (GMT +1)
3.2

10 km
Ionian Sea, Italy
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 21:51 GMT
Jan 26, 2023 2:51 am (GMT +5)
4.6

10 km
16 km southeast of Sayat, Provincia de Lebap, Turkmenistan
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 21:51 GMT
Jan 25, 2023 10:51 pm (GMT +1)
3.9

9.5 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 120 km south of Birkirkara, Malta
I FELT IT - 7 reports
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1012 joules (938 megawatt hours, equivalent to 807 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitudeMagnitudes of quakes and energy over time
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings