Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 20:46 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 20 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 16 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Rotorua had 4 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 20 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 16 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.4 | South Pacific Ocean, 50 km NW of Hicks Bay, Gisborne District, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.5 | 22 km SW of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours12 quakes | 7 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days139 quakes | 69 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+
Past 30 days714 quakes | 346 quakes M2+ | 51 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days2,181 quakes | 1,041 quakes M2+ | 118 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 365 days8,023 quakes | 3,708 quakes M2+ | 414 quakes M3+ | 25 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (40 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Oct 6, 2022 7:39 am (GMT +12) (Oct 5, 2022 19:39 GMT)
2.4

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, 50 km northwest of Hicks Bay, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 7:47 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 18:47 GMT)
1.3

17 km
14 km west of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 7:43 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 18:43 GMT)
2.1

18 km
16 km west of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 6:02 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 17:02 GMT)
2.3

21 km
87 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 3:01 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 14:01 GMT)
2.3

127 km
49 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 1:11 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 12:11 GMT)
2.2

25 km
South Pacific Ocean, 49 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 10:30 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 09:30 GMT)
3.5

111 km
22 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 9:58 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 08:58 GMT)
2.1

173 km
Waikato, 24 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 9:52 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 08:52 GMT)
1.9

16 km
80 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 7:57 pm (GMT +12) (Oct 5, 2022 07:57 GMT)
3.3

130 km
South Pacific Ocean, 130 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 5:50 pm (GMT +12) (Oct 5, 2022 05:50 GMT)
3.0

171 km
South Pacific Ocean, 63 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (24 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 12:54 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 23:54 GMT)
2.0

39 km
23 km southwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 6:18 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 17:18 GMT)
2.6

138 km
9.7 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 5:08 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 16:08 GMT)
2.2

146 km
88 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 3:51 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 14:51 GMT)
2.0

20 km
75 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 2:33 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 13:33 GMT)
1.8

90 km
36 km south of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 2:32 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 13:32 GMT)
1.0

11 km
New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 1:57 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 12:57 GMT)
1.8

47 km
67 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 12:39 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 11:39 GMT)
2.1

28 km
South Pacific Ocean, 14 km northeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand 1 reportMore
Oct 4, 2022 10:45 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 09:45 GMT)
2.0

57 km
55 km northwest of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 10:19 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 09:19 GMT)
2.1

127 km
60 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3 x 1010 joules (8.32 megawatt hours, equivalent to 7.15 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Rotorua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Rotorua?

The last earthquake in Rotorua occurred 1 hour and 7 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.4 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 50 km northwest of Hicks Bay, New Zealand, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 7:39 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Rotorua in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand had 40 quakes up to magnitude 3.5.

What was the strongest quake in Rotorua in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Rotorua in the past 48 hours occurred 11 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.5 earthquake - 22 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 10:30 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 20:46 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings