Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Sendai City, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 02:34 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Sendai was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | North Pacific Ocean, 88 km SE of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | North Pacific Ocean, 93 km E of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan (updated )

Past 24 hours:13 quakes | 8 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:81 quakes | 51 quakes M2+ | 26 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:351 quakes | 233 quakes M2+ | 106 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,832 quakes | 1,166 quakes M2+ | 562 quakes M3+ | 94 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:3,095 quakes | 1,985 quakes M2+ | 919 quakes M3+ | 172 quakes M4+ | 17 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, May 19, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 19, 2022 9:21 am (GMT +9) (May 19, 2022 00:21 GMT)
2.5

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
May 19, 2022 8:23 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 23:23 GMT)
2.6

41 km
North Pacific Ocean, 63 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
May 19, 2022 5:21 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 20:21 GMT)
2.6

58 km
North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 19, 2022 3:52 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 18:52 GMT)
3.5

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 19, 2022 3:31 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 18:31 GMT)
2.6

45 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 19, 2022 1:24 am (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 16:24 GMT)
2.5

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 125 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 18, 2022 11:17 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 14:17 GMT)
3.7

52 km
North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:26 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 10:26 GMT)
4.0

50 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 4:38 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 07:38 GMT)
2.6

60 km
North Pacific Ocean, 54 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:11 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 06:11 GMT)
2.8

55 km
North Pacific Ocean, 27 km east of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 18, 2022 1:32 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 04:32 GMT)
3.3

38 km
North Pacific Ocean, 90 km northeast of Iwaki, Fukushima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 1:11 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 04:11 GMT)
3.3

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 125 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:12 pm (GMT +9) (May 18, 2022 03:12 GMT)
2.7

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 84 km east of Namie, Futaba-gun, Fukushima, Japan MoreMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
May 18, 2022 7:11 am (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 22:11 GMT)
2.6

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southeast of Ishinomaki, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:41 am (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 20:41 GMT)
2.6

47 km
North Pacific Ocean, 92 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan MoreMap
May 17, 2022 10:53 pm (GMT +9) (May 17, 2022 13:53 GMT)
4.4

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.3 x 1011 joules (120 megawatt hours, equivalent to 103 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Sendai Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sendai?

The last earthquake in Sendai occurred 2 hours and 14 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southeast of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 9:21 am (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Sendai in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Sendai City, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan had 23 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Sendai in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Sendai in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 13 hours ago: Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Sendai, Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 10:53 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 02:34 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.