Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Sitia, Crete, Greece, in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 13:03 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | 25 km SE of Heraklion, Crete, Greece -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.3 | Aegean Sea, 85 km S of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Sitia, Crete, Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours15 quakes14 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days54 quakes35 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days212 quakes123 quakes M2+30 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days608 quakes346 quakes M2+83 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days5,232 quakes2,220 quakes M2+409 quakes M3+32 quakes M4+8 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 8:29 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 06:29 GMT)
2.5

5 km
25 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 5:59 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 03:59 GMT)
2.4

13 km
Aegean Sea, 89 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 5:16 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 03:16 GMT)
2.5

10 km
Aegean Sea, 13 km south of Ios, Nomos Kykladon, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 4:15 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 02:15 GMT)
3.3

18 km
Aegean Sea, 85 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:00 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 02:00 GMT)
2.2

7.6 km
47 km southwest of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:38 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 00:38 GMT)
2.4

12 km
Aegean Sea, 88 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 2, 2022 2:26 am (GMT +2) (Dec 2, 2022 00:26 GMT)
2.4

15 km
Aegean Sea, 88 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 1:02 am (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 23:02 GMT)
2.7

31 km
Aegean Sea, 84 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 11:35 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 21:35 GMT)
2.1

12 km
Aegean Sea, 95 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 11:07 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 21:07 GMT)
2.6

29 km
Aegean Sea, 84 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 10:34 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 20:34 GMT)
2.5

20 km
Aegean Sea, 86 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 10:08 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 20:08 GMT)
2.1

23 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 63 km south of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 9:34 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 19:34 GMT)
2.9

18 km
Aegean Sea, 88 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 8:21 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 18:21 GMT)
2.4

44 km
Aegean Sea, 97 km west of Rhodos, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 7:01 pm (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 17:01 GMT)
2.6

6.3 km
58 km southeast of Sitia, Lasithi, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 7:05 am (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 05:05 GMT)
2.5

3 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 9.1 km east of Pigadia, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Dec 1, 2022 6:22 am (GMT +2) (Dec 1, 2022 04:22 GMT)
2.0

3 km
Aegean Sea, 55 km northeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Nov 30, 2022 7:37 pm (GMT +2) (Nov 30, 2022 17:37 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Aegean Sea, 86 km northeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1010 joules (3.25 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Elmali-ANTALYA (ELL/KO network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Elmali-ANTALYA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Sitia Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sitia?

The last earthquake in Sitia occurred 7 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 25 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 8:29 am (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Sitia in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Sitia, Crete, Greece had 18 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Sitia in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Sitia in the past 48 hours occurred 11 hours ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - Aegean Sea, 85 km south of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 4:15 am (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 13:03 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings