Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Ciudad de Limon, Provincia de Limon, Costa Rica, in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:17 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 3.4 | 14 km NE of San Vito, Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.9 | 21 km SE of Ciudad de Limon, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Ciudad de Limon, Provincia de Limon, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours2 quakes0 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days31 quakes20 quakes M2+10 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days146 quakes93 quakes M2+44 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days488 quakes316 quakes M2+146 quakes M3+14 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,458 quakes837 quakes M2+548 quakes M3+50 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 12:26 am (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 06:26 GMT)
?

n/a
26 km northeast of Tejar, Acosta, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 26, 2023 9:49 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 03:49 GMT)
3.4

10.6 km
14 km northeast of San Vito, Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 7:49 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 27, 2023 00:49 GMT)
3.6

7 km
9.8 km southeast of Changuinola, Provincia de Bocas del Toro, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 2:40 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 08:40 GMT)
2.7

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 46 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica More
Jan 25, 2023 8:33 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 02:33 GMT)
2.8

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Jan 25, 2023 8:22 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 02:22 GMT)
2.6

19 km
Panama, 25 km northeast of San Vito, Costa Rica More
Jan 25, 2023 8:22 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 02:22 GMT)
2.6

19 km
Panama, 25 km northeast of San Vito, Costa Rica More
Jan 25, 2023 8:22 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 02:22 GMT)
2.6

19 km
Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica, 24 km northwest of Volcan, Panama More
Jan 25, 2023 7:57 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 01:57 GMT)
3.0

3 km
12 km northeast of San Vito, Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 25, 2023 7:56 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 01:56 GMT)
3.9

10 km
21 km southeast of Ciudad de Limon, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 6:56 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 00:56 GMT)
3.0

5 km
Panama, 24 km east of San Vito, Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 25, 2023 12:59 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 25, 2023 18:59 GMT)
2.6

3 km
31 km northwest of Ciudad de Limon, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.6 x 1010 joules (21.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 18.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Heredia, Costa Rica (HDC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Heredia, Costa Rica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Ciudad de Limon Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Ciudad de Limon?

The last earthquake in Ciudad de Limon occurred 6 hours ago: Light mag. 3.4 earthquake - 14 km northeast of San Vito, Coto Brus, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 9:49 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Ciudad de Limon in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Ciudad de Limon, Provincia de Limon, Costa Rica had 12 quakes up to magnitude 3.9.

What was the strongest quake in Ciudad de Limon in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Ciudad de Limon in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 8 hours ago: Moderate mag. 3.9 earthquake - 21 km southeast of Ciudad de Limon, Costa Rica, on Wednesday, Jan 25, 2023 at 7:56 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:17 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings