Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Athens City, Attica, Greece, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:44 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 19 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Athens had 8 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 19 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | 9.2 km NW of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.9 | 7.1 km E of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Athens City, Attica, Greece (updated )

Past 24 hours15 quakes | 3 quakes M2+
Past 7 days105 quakes | 22 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days397 quakes | 97 quakes M2+ | 12 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days1,277 quakes | 285 quakes M2+ | 42 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 365 days8,530 quakes | 1,776 quakes M2+ | 164 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (27 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 9:11 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 18:11 GMT)
1.6

4.2 km
9.2 km northwest of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 8:31 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 17:31 GMT)
1.5

9.7 km
7.3 km southeast of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 6:48 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 15:48 GMT)
1.7

44 km
35 km northwest of Tripoli, Arcadia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 5:01 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 14:01 GMT)
1.5

9.7 km
6.1 km southeast of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 3:43 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 12:43 GMT)
1.7

19 km
24 km northwest of Lamia, Phthiotis, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 2:45 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 11:45 GMT)
1.6

10.7 km
6.8 km southeast of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 1:33 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 10:33 GMT)
1.6

10 km
Ionian Sea, 7.6 km northeast of Aigio, Achaea, Western Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 11:56 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 08:56 GMT)
1.0

9.8 km
Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 11:13 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 08:13 GMT)
1.9

14 km
16 km northwest of Lamia, Phthiotis, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 9:19 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 06:19 GMT)
1.9

5.7 km
3.6 km south of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 9:01 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 06:01 GMT)
2.2

161 km
24 km northwest of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 5:14 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 02:14 GMT)
1.9

9.9 km
4.6 km east of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 5:00 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 02:00 GMT)
2.2

10 km
Aegean Sea, 142 km northeast of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 3:50 am (GMT +3) (Sep 29, 2022 00:50 GMT)
1.2

9.6 km
Greece: 3 Km E From Thebes More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 12:54 am (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 21:54 GMT)
2.0

65 km
49 km northeast of Elafonisos Island, Laconia, Peloponnese, Greece More
Sep 29, 2022 12:22 am (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 21:22 GMT)
0.8

8.4 km
Greece: 8 Km WSW From Asopia Voiotia More
Sep 28, 2022 5:17 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 14:17 GMT)
1.2

11 km
Greece: 6 Km ESE From Thebes More
Sep 28, 2022 5:09 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 14:09 GMT)
2.6

5.2 km
2.7 km south of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 4:41 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 13:41 GMT)
1.7

5.2 km
2.1 km south of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 28, 2022 2:50 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 11:50 GMT)
1.8

9.4 km
6.7 km east of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece More
Sep 28, 2022 2:47 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 28, 2022 11:47 GMT)
2.5

5 km
20 km west of Chalcis, Euboea, Central Greece More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 109 joules (934 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.804 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Elmali-ANTALYA (ELL/KO network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Elmali-ANTALYA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Athens Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Athens?

The last earthquake in Athens occurred 33 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - 9.2 km northwest of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 9:11 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Athens in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Athens City, Attica, Greece had 27 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Athens in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Athens in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 8 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - 7.1 km east of Thebes, Nomos Voiotias, Central Greece, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 2:04 pm (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:44 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings