Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Nelson, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:57 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 14 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 6 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Nelson was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.4, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 14 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.9 | Tasman Sea, 88 km N of Wellington, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | Tasman Sea, 97 km W of Whanganui, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Nelson, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours10 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days63 quakes | 38 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days281 quakes | 155 quakes M2+ | 16 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days776 quakes | 463 quakes M2+ | 44 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days3,516 quakes | 1,882 quakes M2+ | 194 quakes M3+ | 22 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (24 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Oct 6, 2022 6:46 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 17:46 GMT)
1.9

12 km
Tasman Sea, 88 km north of Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 6:03 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 17:03 GMT)
3.0

32 km
34 km southwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Oct 6, 2022 2:46 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 13:46 GMT)
2.8

20 km
Tasman Sea, 34 km south of Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 1:02 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 12:02 GMT)
1.9

5 km
Tasman Sea, 35 km south of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 6, 2022 12:13 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 11:13 GMT)
1.7

38 km
8.7 km south of Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast District, Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 11:22 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 10:22 GMT)
2.5

5 km
Tasman Sea, 134 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 9:22 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 08:22 GMT)
2.8

67 km
12 km south of Nelson, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 9:15 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 08:15 GMT)
2.6

168 km
Tasman Sea, 149 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 6:53 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 05:53 GMT)
1.6

28 km
3.3 km west of Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast District, Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 3:36 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2022 02:36 GMT)
2.5

5 km
56 km southwest of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 10:08 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 21:08 GMT)
3.3

80 km
Tasman Sea, 79 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 7:00 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 18:00 GMT)
3.1

126 km
Tasman Sea, 86 km north of Nelson, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 5:58 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 16:58 GMT)
1.2

52 km
68 km southwest of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 1:26 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 12:26 GMT)
2.1

49 km
Tasman Sea, 20 km north of Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 5, 2022 1:24 am (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 12:24 GMT)
2.0

9.4 km
Tasman Sea, 29 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 11:41 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 10:41 GMT)
1.9

13 km
Canterbury, 99 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 8:09 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 07:09 GMT)
2.0

62 km
8.8 km south of Nelson, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 7:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 06:26 GMT)
2.0

31 km
Waikato, 96 km north of Wellington, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 6:27 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 05:27 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Tasman Sea, 92 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 5:17 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 04:17 GMT)
2.3

6.7 km
Tasman Sea, 96 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Oct 4, 2022 3:24 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 4, 2022 02:24 GMT)
2.3

19 km
Canterbury, 56 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1011 joules (74 megawatt hours, equivalent to 63.6 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Nelson Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Nelson?

The last earthquake in Nelson occurred 5 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 88 km north of Wellington, New Zealand, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 6:46 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Nelson in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Nelson, New Zealand had 24 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Nelson in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Nelson in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 23 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 97 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 12:50 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 22:57 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings