Latest quakes in or near Arriaga, Chiapas, Mexico, in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 01:47 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
In the past 48 hours, Arriaga was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above and 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 80 km S of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 38 km S of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Arriaga, Chiapas, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours:5 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days:54 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 43 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:197 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 159 quakes M3+ | 37 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:612 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 468 quakes M3+ | 143 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:2,616 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 2,085 quakes M3+ | 524 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Aug 8, 2022 3:44 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 8, 2022 21:44 GMT)
3.8

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 80 km south of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 1:59 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 8, 2022 19:59 GMT)
3.8

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 113 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 10:21 am (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 15:21 GMT)
4.0

156 km
54 km southwest of Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 6:34 am (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 11:34 GMT)
4.8

18 km
North Pacific Ocean, 38 km south of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:55 am (GMT -6) (Aug 8, 2022 08:55 GMT)
3.7

39 km
North Pacific Ocean, 102 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, August 7, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Aug 7, 2022 3:43 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 7, 2022 20:43 GMT)
3.7

57 km
34 km northwest of Juchitan de Zaragoza, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 1:40 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 7, 2022 18:40 GMT)
3.6

118 km
17 km west of Santo Domingo Zanatepec, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 1:04 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 7, 2022 18:04 GMT)
3.9

10 km
4.1 km northeast of Juchitan de Zaragoza, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 4:21 am (GMT -6) (Aug 7, 2022 10:21 GMT)
4.1

65 km
North Pacific Ocean, 50 km south of Tonala, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 3:13 am (GMT -5) (Aug 7, 2022 08:13 GMT)
3.9

15 km
North Pacific Ocean, 22 km east of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 1:10 am (GMT -6) (Aug 7, 2022 07:10 GMT)
4.1

82 km
North Pacific Ocean, 72 km southwest of Mapastepec, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.5 x 1012 joules (404 megawatt hours, equivalent to 348 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Arriaga Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Arriaga?

The last earthquake in Arriaga occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 80 km south of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 3:44 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Arriaga in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Arriaga, Chiapas, Mexico had 11 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in Arriaga in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Arriaga in the past 48 hours occurred 14 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 38 km south of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 6:34 am (GMT -5).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 9, 2022 01:47 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings