Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 9 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, New Plymouth had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 9 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | Tasman Sea, 47 km W of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.3 | 48 km SE of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours15 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days61 quakes | 33 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+
Past 30 days338 quakes | 165 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+
Past 90 days1,099 quakes | 506 quakes M2+ | 46 quakes M3+
Past 365 days4,139 quakes | 1,874 quakes M2+ | 209 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (24 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 5:40 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 16:40 GMT)
2.5

31 km
Tasman Sea, 47 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 3:29 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 14:29 GMT)
1.6

34 km
53 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 30, 2022 12:37 am (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 11:37 GMT)
3.3

227 km
48 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 10:33 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 09:33 GMT)
1.4

61 km
45 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 9:04 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 08:04 GMT)
1.9

12 km
Tasman Sea, 94 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 8:33 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 07:33 GMT)
3.3

199 km
8 km north of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 7:30 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 06:30 GMT)
2.0

112 km
32 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 6:05 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 05:05 GMT)
1.5

11 km
53 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 4:41 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 03:41 GMT)
2.0

55 km
Tasman Sea, 46 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 1:45 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 00:45 GMT)
1.9

28 km
12 km east of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 1:33 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 29, 2022 00:33 GMT)
1.5

12 km
71 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 12:44 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 23:44 GMT)
3.2

5 km
Tasman Sea, 57 km west of Whanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 12:35 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 23:35 GMT)
1.4

14 km
New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 10:36 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 21:36 GMT)
2.4

121 km
Waikato, 39 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 7:04 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 18:04 GMT)
2.5

95 km
28 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 5:30 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 16:30 GMT)
2.3

17 km
41 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 4:24 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 15:24 GMT)
2.3

130 km
48 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Sep 29, 2022 12:18 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 11:18 GMT)
0.4

5 km
New Zealand More
Sep 28, 2022 11:26 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 10:26 GMT)
2.0

70 km
Tasman Sea, 95 km north of Wellington, New Zealand More
Sep 28, 2022 1:07 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2022 00:07 GMT)
2.2

28 km
9.4 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 12:16 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 27, 2022 23:16 GMT)
1.8

5 km
50 km northeast of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1010 joules (4.93 megawatt hours, equivalent to 4.24 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

New Plymouth Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in New Plymouth?

The last earthquake in New Plymouth occurred 1 hour and 40 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 47 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 5:40 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in New Plymouth in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand had 24 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in New Plymouth in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in New Plymouth in the past 48 hours occurred 7 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.3 earthquake - 48 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand, on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 12:37 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:20 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings