Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Tejar, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica, in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Mar 21, 2023 20:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A strong magnitude 5.5 earthquake hit North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica, 19 hours ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 GMT (15 quakes)
Mar 21, 2023 12:13 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 18:13 GMT)
2.9

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 86 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Mar 21, 2023 11:12 am (GMT -5) (Mar 21, 2023 16:12 GMT)
2.7

18 km
9.8 km northeast of Puerto Armuelles, Panama More
Mar 21, 2023 7:22 am (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 13:22 GMT)
2.7

5 km
16 km northeast of Ciudad Quesada, San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 21, 2023 7:22 am (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 13:22 GMT)
3.2

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 77 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 21, 2023 4:26 am (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 10:26 GMT)
2.9

6 km
Provincia de Cartago, 38 km southwest of Ciudad de Limon, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 21, 2023 1:38 am (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 07:38 GMT)
2.7

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 85 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Mar 20, 2023 10:08 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 04:08 GMT)
3.0

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 72 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 6 reports
More
Mar 20, 2023 9:54 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 03:54 GMT)
3.8

31 km
40 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 43 reports
More
Mar 20, 2023 9:19 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 03:19 GMT)
2.5

185 km
Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, 34 km south of Isla de Ometepe Island, Nicaragua More
Mar 20, 2023 9:09 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 03:09 GMT)
2.5

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 85 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Mar 20, 2023 7:58 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 01:58 GMT)
2.9

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 76 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 4 reports
More
Mar 20, 2023 7:58 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 01:58 GMT)
3.5

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 87 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 20, 2023 7:50 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 01:50 GMT)
3.4

11 km
North Pacific Ocean, 86 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Mar 20, 2023 7:44 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 01:44 GMT)
5.5

35 km
North Pacific Ocean, 64 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 311 reports
More
Mar 20, 2023 7:03 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 21, 2023 01:03 GMT)
2.5

2 km
North Pacific Ocean, 83 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica 3 reportsMore
Monday, March 20, 2023 GMT (11 quakes)
Mar 20, 2023 5:54 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 23:54 GMT)
2.7

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 47 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica More
Mar 20, 2023 3:19 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 21:19 GMT)
3.3

14 km
North Pacific Ocean, 35 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Mar 20, 2023 6:21 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 12:21 GMT)
2.6

8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 76 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 20, 2023 4:27 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 10:27 GMT)
1.9

8 km
Provincia de San José, 18 km southwest of Cartago, Costa Rica More
Mar 20, 2023 4:24 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 10:24 GMT)
2.3

6 km
10.6 km west of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Mar 20, 2023 3:51 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 09:51 GMT)
2.4

8 km
8.2 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Mar 20, 2023 3:47 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 09:47 GMT)
2.9

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 40 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 20, 2023 3:47 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 09:47 GMT)
3.0

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 33 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 20, 2023 1:26 am (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 07:26 GMT)
2.4

11 km
Caribbean Sea, 40 km north of Ciudad de Limon, Costa Rica More
Mar 19, 2023 11:18 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 05:18 GMT)
3.1

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 143 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Mar 19, 2023 10:07 pm (GMT -6) (Mar 20, 2023 04:07 GMT)
2.0

7 km
10.9 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1013 joules (3.14 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2700 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Heredia, Costa Rica (HDC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Heredia, Costa Rica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Tejar Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tejar?

The last earthquake in Tejar occurred 2 hours and 46 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.9 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 86 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Tuesday, Mar 21, 2023 at 12:13 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Tejar in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Tejar, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica had 26 quakes up to magnitude 5.5.

What was the strongest quake in Tejar in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Tejar in the past 48 hours occurred 19 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 64 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Monday, Mar 20, 2023 at 7:44 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Mar 21, 2023 20:59 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings