Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Wellington, New Zealand, in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:10 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 29 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.0 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.2 | 16 km NE of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Wellington, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours23 quakes6 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days121 quakes44 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+
Past 30 days447 quakes158 quakes M2+19 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,412 quakes511 quakes M2+48 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+
Past 365 days5,428 quakes2,137 quakes M2+201 quakes M3+23 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (43 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (9 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 10:22 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 09:22 GMT)
1.0

32 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 7:17 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 06:17 GMT)
1.0

23 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 6:52 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 05:52 GMT)
1.8

21 km
81 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 5:13 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 04:13 GMT)
1.5

24 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 4:38 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 03:38 GMT)
2.2

123 km
Tasman Sea, 97 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 4:37 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 03:37 GMT)
1.2

32 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 3:42 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 02:42 GMT)
1.8

80 km
Tasman, 31 km west of Nelson, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 3:42 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 02:42 GMT)
1.6

17 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 3:16 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 02:16 GMT)
1.3

26 km
New Zealand More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (20 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 12:12 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 23:12 GMT)
2.2

12 km
26 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 12:09 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 23:09 GMT)
1.3

24 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 10:32 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 21:32 GMT)
1.3

22 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 10:13 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 21:13 GMT)
1.6

5 km
Canterbury, 91 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 8:17 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 19:17 GMT)
1.9

5 km
Canterbury, New Zealand, 97 km north of Pegasus Island More
Jan 27, 2023 8:09 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 19:09 GMT)
2.7

5 km
Canterbury, New Zealand, 97 km north of Pegasus Island
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 8:03 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 19:03 GMT)
0.8

26 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 8:03 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 19:03 GMT)
1.4

28 km
New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 7:09 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 18:09 GMT)
1.9

13 km
South Pacific Ocean, 72 km southeast of Wellington, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 6:54 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 17:54 GMT)
1.8

37 km
Tasman Sea, 82 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 6:35 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 17:35 GMT)
2.2

47 km
Tasman Sea, 23 km north of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 6:26 am (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2023 17:26 GMT)
2.0

17 km
5.4 km southeast of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 109 joules (2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.72 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: South Karori, New Zealand (SNZO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station South Karori, New Zealand: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Wellington Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Wellington?

The last earthquake in Wellington occurred 1 hour and 48 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.0 earthquake - New Zealand on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 10:22 pm (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Wellington in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Wellington, New Zealand had 43 quakes up to magnitude 3.2.

What was the strongest quake in Wellington in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Wellington in the past 48 hours occurred 21 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.2 earthquake - 16 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 3:28 am (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 11:10 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings