2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Sunday, July 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 03:25 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 11 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Iquique was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 11 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | 92 km NE of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.5 | 139 km E of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:6 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:57 quakes | 33 quakes M2+ | 19 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:273 quakes | 172 quakes M2+ | 86 quakes M3+ | 14 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:736 quakes | 463 quakes M2+ | 235 quakes M3+ | 37 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:2,711 quakes | 1,775 quakes M2+ | 794 quakes M3+ | 127 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Jul 2, 2022 11:12 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 3, 2022 03:12 GMT)
2.5

97 km
92 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 6:58 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 22:58 GMT)
4.5

115 km
139 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 19:15 GMT)
3.5

106 km
130 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:57 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 18:57 GMT)
3.4

48 km
78 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 12:49 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 16:49 GMT)
2.9

91 km
Tarapaca, 80 km northwest of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 12:36 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 16:36 GMT)
2.6

85 km
98 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 8:56 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 00:56 GMT)
3.0

20 km
Tarapaca, 85 km north of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, July 1, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
Jul 1, 2022 5:45 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 21:45 GMT)
2.4

135 km
Tarapaca, 62 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:25 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 21:25 GMT)
2.4

131 km
99 km east of Huara, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 1:24 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 17:24 GMT)
2.8

106 km
99 km east of Huara, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 11:29 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 15:29 GMT)
2.2

100 km
Tarapaca, 72 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 8:03 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 12:03 GMT)
2.7

103 km
118 km southeast of Huara, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 6:30 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 10:30 GMT)
3.0

62 km
93 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:46 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 09:46 GMT)
2.3

93 km
Tarapaca, 81 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:01 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 09:01 GMT)
4.2

97 km
Chile-Bolivia Border Region
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 3:44 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 07:44 GMT)
2.8

129 km
Tarapaca, 53 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 1011 joules (143 megawatt hours, equivalent to 123 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Iquique Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Iquique?

The last earthquake in Iquique occurred 12 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - 92 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 11:12 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Iquique in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile had 18 quakes up to magnitude 4.5.

What was the strongest quake in Iquique in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Iquique in the past 48 hours occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 4.5 earthquake - 139 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 6:58 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jul 3, 2022 03:25 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.