Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Calama, Antofagasta, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 19, 2022 01:27 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 12 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Calama had 4 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 12 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | Tarapaca, 144 km N of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.8 | 262 km SW of Ciudad Potosi, Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Calama, Antofagasta, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:11 quakes | 8 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:59 quakes | 37 quakes M2+ | 19 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:213 quakes | 117 quakes M2+ | 83 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:733 quakes | 437 quakes M2+ | 258 quakes M3+ | 35 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:2,629 quakes | 1,585 quakes M2+ | 904 quakes M3+ | 130 quakes M4+ | 9 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, May 19, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
May 18, 2022 8:44 pm (GMT -4) (May 19, 2022 00:44 GMT)
3.6

139 km
Tarapaca, 144 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 GMT (11 quakes)
May 18, 2022 7:24 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 23:24 GMT)
2.9

83 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 7:20 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 23:20 GMT)
2.5

108 km
74 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 5:37 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 21:37 GMT)
2.4

117 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:40 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 18:40 GMT)
2.8

106 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 2:19 pm (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 18:19 GMT)
3.8

216 km
262 km southwest of Ciudad Potosi, Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 10:42 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 14:42 GMT)
2.6

132 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 4:55 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 08:55 GMT)
3.1

143 km
71 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:18 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 07:18 GMT)
3.1

144 km
80 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 18, 2022 3:12 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 07:12 GMT)
2.4

103 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:09 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 04:09 GMT)
2.7

139 km
Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 18, 2022 12:07 am (GMT -4) (May 18, 2022 04:07 GMT)
2.4

123 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
May 17, 2022 3:05 pm (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 19:05 GMT)
2.6

89 km
52 km south of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 17, 2022 3:50 am (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 07:50 GMT)
2.8

109 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 17, 2022 2:38 am (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 06:38 GMT)
2.7

137 km
Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 16, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -4) (May 17, 2022 02:43 GMT)
2.4

109 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6 x 1010 joules (16.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 14.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Calama Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Calama?

The last earthquake in Calama occurred 43 minutes ago: Minor mag. 3.6 earthquake - Tarapaca, 144 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 8:44 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Calama in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Calama, Antofagasta, Chile had 16 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Calama in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Calama in the past 48 hours occurred 7 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.8 earthquake - 262 km southwest of Ciudad Potosi, Departamento de Potosi, Bolivia, on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 at 2:19 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 01:27 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.