Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or around the Banda Sea in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:31 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | 53 km E of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | Timor Sea, Indonesia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or around the Banda Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours7 quakes4 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days57 quakes21 quakes M2+22 quakes M3+14 quakes M4+
Past 30 days203 quakes51 quakes M2+78 quakes M3+70 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+0 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 90 days589 quakes149 quakes M2+269 quakes M3+158 quakes M4+12 quakes M5+0 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 365 days2,491 quakes638 quakes M2+1,152 quakes M3+656 quakes M4+42 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Jan 27, 2023 4:31 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 08:31 GMT)
2.8

10 km
53 km east of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 3:07 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 07:07 GMT)
2.8

10 km
70 km northeast of Luwuk, Kabupaten Banggai, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 2:14 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 27, 2023 06:14 GMT)
2.7

27 km
78 km northeast of Luwuk, Kabupaten Banggai, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 27, 2023 10:51 am (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 01:51 GMT)
4.2

165 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (12 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 10:24 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 14:24 GMT)
2.9

10 km
59 km east of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 26, 2023 10:21 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 13:21 GMT)
3.2

10 km
Banda Sea, 84 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 7:47 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 11:47 GMT)
3.0

58 km
Savu Sea, 83 km northwest of Kefamenanu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:54 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 08:54 GMT)
3.7

129 km
Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:15 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 08:15 GMT)
3.0

214 km
Banda Sea, 196 km southeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:05 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 07:05 GMT)
4.3

10 km
Timor Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:11 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 06:11 GMT)
2.5

21 km
South Pacific Ocean, 59 km northeast of Sorong, West Papua, Indonesia More
Jan 26, 2023 1:36 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 04:36 GMT)
3.7

10 km
Banda Sea, 123 km southeast of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 12:14 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 04:14 GMT)
2.9

15 km
75 km north of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia More
Jan 26, 2023 11:46 am (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 03:46 GMT)
3.5

168 km
Flores Sea, 28 km north of Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 11:52 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2023 02:52 GMT)
2.6

10 km
Banda Sea, 26 km southeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia More
Jan 26, 2023 9:57 am (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 01:57 GMT)
3.7

10 km
Flores Sea, 130 km northwest of Ende, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4 x 1011 joules (110 megawatt hours, equivalent to 94.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Darwin High School (AUDHS/S1 network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Darwin High School: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Banda Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or around the Banda Sea?

The last earthquake in or around the Banda Sea occurred 1 hour and 60 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - 53 km east of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 4:31 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in or around the Banda Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Banda Sea, Indonesia had 16 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in or around the Banda Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or around the Banda Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 3 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.3 earthquake - Timor Sea, Indonesia, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 4:05 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings