Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Molucca Sea, Indonesia, in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 12:56 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 91 km S of Gorontalo, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | 78 km S of Gorontalo, Indonesia -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Molucca Sea, Indonesia (updated )

Past 24 hours9 quakes1 quake M2+5 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 7 days51 quakes12 quakes M2+32 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+
Past 30 days181 quakes40 quakes M2+96 quakes M3+38 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 90 days496 quakes92 quakes M2+271 quakes M3+121 quakes M4+11 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days1,794 quakes270 quakes M2+992 quakes M3+486 quakes M4+43 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 8:40 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 12:40 GMT)
4.3

83 km
91 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:55 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 08:55 GMT)
4.9

126 km
78 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:45 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 2, 2022 06:45 GMT)
4.5

10 km
Ceram Sea, 197 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 11:47 am (GMT +9) (Dec 2, 2022 02:47 GMT)
4.5

40 km
Ceram Sea, 195 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 8:51 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 00:51 GMT)
2.5

28 km
89 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 5:28 am (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 20:28 GMT)
3.6

10 km
Molucca Sea, 162 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:24 am (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 20:24 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Molucca Sea, 120 km north of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 11:13 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 14:13 GMT)
3.8

97 km
Ceram Sea, 194 km north of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 9:26 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 12:26 GMT)
3.6

10 km
95 km east of Sofifi, Kota Tidore Kepulauan, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 8:23 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 12:23 GMT)
3.1

47 km
95 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 3:02 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 07:02 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Molucca Sea, Indonesia More
Dec 1, 2022 11:53 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 03:53 GMT)
4.6

67 km
Molucca Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 9:34 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 01:34 GMT)
3.1

80 km
North Sulawesi, 65 km east of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 9:21 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 01:21 GMT)
2.9

201 km
61 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia More
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 4:40 am (GMT +9) (Nov 30, 2022 19:40 GMT)
4.4

11 km
Philippine Sea, 284 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 3:23 am (GMT +8) (Nov 30, 2022 19:23 GMT)
3.7

80 km
20 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 1:38 am (GMT +9) (Nov 30, 2022 16:38 GMT)
3.1

13 km
Molucca Sea, 121 km north of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 11:20 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 30, 2022 14:20 GMT)
3.4

141 km
Molucca Sea, 89 km north of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 1012 joules (879 megawatt hours, equivalent to 756 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Davao, Philippines (DAV/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Davao, Philippines: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Molucca Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Molucca Sea?

The last earthquake in Molucca Sea occurred 16 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - 91 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 8:40 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Molucca Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Molucca Sea, Indonesia had 18 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in Molucca Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Molucca Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 4.9 earthquake - 78 km south of Gorontalo, Indonesia, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 4:55 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings