Latest quakes in or near Salta, Argentina, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 02:40 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Salta was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.4, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 54 km S of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | 21 km SW of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Salta, Argentina (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:43 quakes | 10 quakes M2+ | 29 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:239 quakes | 70 quakes M2+ | 147 quakes M3+ | 21 quakes M4+ | 0 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:675 quakes | 210 quakes M2+ | 396 quakes M3+ | 67 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:3,016 quakes | 1,074 quakes M2+ | 1,677 quakes M3+ | 252 quakes M4+ | 9 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Salta, Argentina | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 7:59 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 23:59 GMT)
2.6

86 km
54 km south of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:07 pm (GMT -3) (Aug 17, 2022 23:07 GMT)
3.2

240 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 125 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 4:55 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 20:55 GMT)
2.7

138 km
13 km south of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 4:38 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 20:38 GMT)
3.0

132 km
113 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:24 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 19:24 GMT)
2.6

116 km
73 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 12:03 pm (GMT -3) (Aug 17, 2022 15:03 GMT)
2.7

219 km
Jujuy, 96 km northwest of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 5:43 am (GMT -4) (Aug 17, 2022 09:43 GMT)
2.8

179 km
98 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 12:01 am (GMT -3) (Aug 17, 2022 03:01 GMT)
3.6

179 km
195 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Aug 16, 2022 4:25 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 20:25 GMT)
4.4

119 km
21 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 2:02 pm (GMT -3) (Aug 16, 2022 17:02 GMT)
3.2

248 km
Salta, 203 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 9:36 am (GMT -4) (Aug 16, 2022 13:36 GMT)
2.5

107 km
52 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 2:37 am (GMT -3) (Aug 16, 2022 05:37 GMT)
3.3

10 km
63 km west of Cafayate, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.9 x 1011 joules (79.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 68.4 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Salta Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Salta?

The last earthquake in Salta occurred 2 hours and 41 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 54 km south of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 7:59 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Salta in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Salta, Argentina had 12 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Salta in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Salta in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 6 hours ago: Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - 21 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 4:25 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings