2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 14 days - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 02:16 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 14 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 6
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 142 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 273 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 570 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 450 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 14 days, the South Pacific Ocean had 1 quake of magnitude 6.0, 15 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 142 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 273 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 570 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 450 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.6 | 86 km N of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.0 | South Pacific Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the South Pacific Ocean (updated )

Past 24 hours:97 quakes | 38 quakes M2+ | 17 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 7 days:708 quakes | 299 quakes M2+ | 130 quakes M3+ | 62 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:2,813 quakes | 1,159 quakes M2+ | 592 quakes M3+ | 289 quakes M4+ | 35 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:8,350 quakes | 3,349 quakes M2+ | 1,834 quakes M3+ | 844 quakes M4+ | 154 quakes M5+ | 14 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:36,031 quakes | 15,773 quakes M2+ | 7,743 quakes M3+ | 3,541 quakes M4+ | 696 quakes M5+ | 47 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 4.6 or higher (102 out of 1451 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 3, 2022 01:50 GMT)
4.6

110 km
85 Km NNE of Calama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 9:26 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 3, 2022 01:26 GMT)
2.6

108 km
ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:40 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 3, 2022 00:40 GMT)
2.2

24 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:23 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 3, 2022 00:23 GMT)
2.2

25 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:12 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 3, 2022 00:12 GMT)
2.0

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (23 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 7:47 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 23:47 GMT)
3.2

36 km
Near Coast of Northern Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 6:58 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 22:58 GMT)
4.5

115 km
138 Km E of Iquique, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 10:35 am (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 22:35 GMT)
2.6

211 km
New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 10:24 am (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 22:24 GMT)
4.2

249 km
New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 5:38 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 21:38 GMT)
2.9

134 km
Chile-Bolivia Border Region MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:08 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 21:08 GMT)
4.2

69 km
NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:58 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 20:58 GMT)
2.7

33 km
OFFSHORE ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:54 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 20:54 GMT)
2.7

120 km
ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 8:52 am (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 20:52 GMT)
2.2

152 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:49 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 20:49 GMT)
3.6

37 km
COQUIMBO, CHILE
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:33 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 20:33 GMT)
2.8

47 km
ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1014 joules (73.5 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 63237 tons of TNT or 4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

South Pacific Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean?

The last earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean occurred 26 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 86 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 9:50 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 14 days?

In the past 14 days, South Pacific Ocean had 102 quakes up to magnitude 6.0.

What was the strongest quake in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 14 days?

The strongest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 14 days occurred 9 days ago: Strong mag. 6.0 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean on Thursday, Jun 23, 2022 at 5:02 pm (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.