Latest quakes in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 02:04 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 59 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 243 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 552 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1068 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 678 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, the South Pacific Ocean had 5 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 59 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 243 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 552 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 1068 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 678 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 74 km NE of Tacna, Peru -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.8 | South Pacific Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the South Pacific Ocean (updated )

Past 24 hours:82 quakes | 31 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 7 days:581 quakes | 246 quakes M2+ | 112 quakes M3+ | 49 quakes M4+ | 12 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:2,544 quakes | 1,068 quakes M2+ | 552 quakes M3+ | 243 quakes M4+ | 59 quakes M5+ | 5 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:8,013 quakes | 3,337 quakes M2+ | 1,673 quakes M3+ | 810 quakes M4+ | 144 quakes M5+ | 13 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:35,591 quakes | 15,463 quakes M2+ | 7,592 quakes M3+ | 3,504 quakes M4+ | 686 quakes M5+ | 50 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Hide 14 unconfirmed quakes
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 5 or higher (122 out of 2605 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 8, 2022 7:50 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 9, 2022 00:50 GMT)
3.1

152 km
SOUTHERN PERU
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (17 quakes)
Aug 8, 2022 8:36 pm (GMT -3) (Aug 8, 2022 23:36 GMT)
3.3

220 km
JUJUY, ARGENTINA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 11:29 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 23:29 GMT)
2.7

21 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:13 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 22:13 GMT)
2.0

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:02 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 22:02 GMT)
2.6

33 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:29 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 21:29 GMT)
2.5

37 km
OFFSHORE COQUIMBO, CHILE MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 3:57 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 20:57 GMT)
4.7

72 km
21 Km W of Quiñota, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:11 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 20:11 GMT)
3.8

108 km
TARAPACA, CHILE
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:57 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 19:57 GMT)
2.4

17 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:51 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 19:51 GMT)
2.5

21 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 6:58 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 18:58 GMT)
2.3

4.8 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 6:08 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 18:08 GMT)
4.5

532 km
New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:07 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 18:07 GMT)
3.0

114 km
TARAPACA, CHILE
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:06 am (GMT +13) (Aug 8, 2022 18:06 GMT)
3.8

488 km
Tonga: New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:05 am (GMT +13) (Aug 8, 2022 18:05 GMT)
5.2

35 km
61 Km S of Pangai, Tonga
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 12:42 am (GMT +11) (Aug 8, 2022 13:42 GMT)
5.1

10 km
81 Km E of Isangel, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 3:37 pm (GMT +10) (Aug 8, 2022 05:37 GMT)
5.6

35 km
148 Km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 10:44 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 03:44 GMT)
4.7

21 km
48 Km NW of Valparaíso, Chile
I FELT IT - 36 reports
MoreMap
Sunday, August 7, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 7, 2022 1:53 pm (GMT +10) (Aug 7, 2022 03:53 GMT)
5.1

229 km
126 Km E of Madang, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 6, 2022 10:41 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 02:41 GMT)
5.0

105 km
138 Km NE of Iquique, Chile
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Saturday, August 6, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Aug 7, 2022 4:38 am (GMT +12) (Aug 6, 2022 16:38 GMT)
5.4

33 km
New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1015 joules (587 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5 x 105 tons of TNT or 31.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

South Pacific Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean?

The last earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean occurred 1 hour and 14 minutes ago: Minor mag. 3.1 earthquake - 74 km northeast of Tacna, Peru, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 7:50 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in or near the South Pacific Ocean past month?

In the past 30 days, South Pacific Ocean had 122 quakes up to magnitude 6.8.

What was the strongest quake in or near the South Pacific Ocean past month?

The strongest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean past month occurred 4 weeks ago: Major magnitude 6.8 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean on Tuesday, Jul 12, 2022 at 11:16 am (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings