Latest quakes in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 02:40 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 13 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 29 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 24 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, the South Pacific Ocean had 3 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 9 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 13 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 29 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 24 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A strong magnitude 5.6 earthquake occurred in East New Britain Province, Papua New Guinea, 21 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 74 km NE of Tacna, Peru -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 5.6 | East New Britain Province, 98 km E of New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the South Pacific Ocean (updated )

Past 24 hours:82 quakes | 31 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 7 days:581 quakes | 246 quakes M2+ | 112 quakes M3+ | 49 quakes M4+ | 12 quakes M5+
Past 30 days:2,544 quakes | 1,068 quakes M2+ | 552 quakes M3+ | 243 quakes M4+ | 59 quakes M5+ | 5 quakes M6+
Past 90 days:8,013 quakes | 3,337 quakes M2+ | 1,673 quakes M3+ | 810 quakes M4+ | 144 quakes M5+ | 13 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:35,591 quakes | 15,463 quakes M2+ | 7,592 quakes M3+ | 3,504 quakes M4+ | 686 quakes M5+ | 50 quakes M6+ | 4 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.7 or higher (63 out of 78 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 8, 2022 7:50 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 9, 2022 00:50 GMT)
3.1

152 km
74 km northeast of Tacna, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (62 quakes)
Aug 8, 2022 8:36 pm (GMT -3) (Aug 8, 2022 23:36 GMT)
3.3

220 km
175 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 11:29 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 23:29 GMT)
2.7

21 km
51 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:13 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 22:13 GMT)
2.0

5 km
Tasman Sea, 32 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 10:02 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 22:02 GMT)
2.6

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, 73 km southeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:29 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 21:29 GMT)
2.5

37 km
South Pacific Ocean, 75 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 3:57 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 8, 2022 20:57 GMT)
4.7

72 km
Region de Apurimac, 99 km southwest of Cusco, Peru
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 8:12 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 20:12 GMT)
1.9

6 km
Tasman Sea, 28 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:11 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 20:11 GMT)
3.8

108 km
90 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:57 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 19:57 GMT)
2.4

17 km
64 km northwest of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:51 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 19:51 GMT)
2.5

21 km
51 km south of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 6:58 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 18:58 GMT)
2.3

4.8 km
12 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 6:08 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 18:08 GMT)
4.5

532 km
South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:07 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 18:07 GMT)
3.0

114 km
166 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:06 am (GMT +13) (Aug 8, 2022 18:06 GMT)
3.8

488 km
South Pacific Ocean, Tonga
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 7:05 am (GMT +13) (Aug 8, 2022 18:05 GMT)
5.2

35 km
South Pacific Ocean, 124 km northeast of Nukalofa, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:02 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 18:02 GMT)
3.6

79 km
85 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 5:49 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 17:49 GMT)
2.7

118 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 5:39 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 17:39 GMT)
2.5

23 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 5:03 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 17:03 GMT)
2.3

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 9, 2022 4:53 am (GMT +12) (Aug 8, 2022 16:53 GMT)
1.8

5 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1013 joules (7.45 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6414 tons of TNT or 0.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

South Pacific Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean?

The last earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean occurred 1 hour and 50 minutes ago: Minor mag. 3.1 earthquake - 74 km northeast of Tacna, Peru, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 7:50 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in or near the South Pacific Ocean today?

In the past 24 hours, South Pacific Ocean had 63 quakes up to magnitude 5.6.

What was the strongest quake in or near the South Pacific Ocean today?

The strongest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean today occurred 21 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.6 earthquake - East New Britain Province, 98 km east of New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 3:37 pm (GMT +10).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings