Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 12:11 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 76 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 57 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.1 | 31 km SW of Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.8 | South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the South Pacific Ocean (updated )

Past 24 hours91 quakes38 quakes M2+19 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+
Past 7 days655 quakes262 quakes M2+121 quakes M3+55 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+
Past 30 days2,775 quakes1,116 quakes M2+522 quakes M3+275 quakes M4+50 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+1 quake M7+
Past 90 days8,816 quakes3,455 quakes M2+1,488 quakes M3+908 quakes M4+184 quakes M5+9 quakes M6+5 quakes M7+
Past 365 days34,848 quakes14,141 quakes M2+7,033 quakes M3+3,594 quakes M4+702 quakes M5+48 quakes M6+9 quakes M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3 or higher (69 out of 189 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (21 quakes)
Jan 28, 2023 12:44 am (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 11:44 GMT)
2.1

5.5 km
31 km southwest of Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand More
Jan 28, 2023 12:26 am (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 11:26 GMT)
2.9

5 km
Tasman Sea, 81 km west of Te Anau, Southland District, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:56 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 10:56 GMT)
3.8

113 km
107 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 27, 2023 5:51 am (GMT -5) (Jan 27, 2023 10:51 GMT)
4.2

185 km
84 km south of Puno, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 7:23 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 10:23 GMT)
3.5

139 km
42 km southeast of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 11:19 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 10:19 GMT)
2.6

178 km
Manawatu-Wanganui, 78 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand 1 reportMore
Jan 27, 2023 7:02 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 10:02 GMT)
3.4

189 km
127 km west of Abra Pampa, Departamento de Cochinoca, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:59 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 09:59 GMT)
3.1

137 km
4.7 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 6:59 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 09:59 GMT)
2.9

34 km
South Pacific Ocean, 65 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Jan 27, 2023 4:56 am (GMT -5) (Jan 27, 2023 09:56 GMT)
2.8

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, 92 km southwest of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile More
Jan 27, 2023 10:46 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 09:46 GMT)
2.7

144 km
64 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 6:30 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 09:30 GMT)
2.8

114 km
110 km southwest of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 27, 2023 6:14 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 09:14 GMT)
3.0

118 km
67 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 10:04 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 09:04 GMT)
2.1

4.8 km
25 km southwest of Gisborne, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 4:08 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 07:08 GMT)
2.8

115 km
Tarapaca, 54 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 27, 2023 2:35 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2023 05:35 GMT)
3.7

86 km
155 km west of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 2:34 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 05:34 GMT)
3.7

82 km
74 km southwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Jan 27, 2023 2:28 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 05:28 GMT)
2.8

35 km
19 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Jan 27, 2023 5:38 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 27, 2023 04:38 GMT)
2.2

139 km
Waikato, 32 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand More
Jan 27, 2023 1:35 am (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 04:35 GMT)
2.9

94 km
44 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Jan 26, 2023 9:39 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2023 00:39 GMT)
3.2

196 km
104 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.7 x 1013 joules (13 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 11144 tons of TNT or 0.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Pitcairn Island, South Pacific (PTCN/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Pitcairn Island, South Pacific: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

South Pacific Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean?

The last earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean occurred 27 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.1 earthquake - 31 km southwest of Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand, on Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 at 12:44 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, South Pacific Ocean had 69 quakes up to magnitude 5.8.

What was the strongest quake in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in or near the South Pacific Ocean in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 1 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.8 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 11:45 pm (GMT +13).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings