Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Jujuy, Argentina, in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 19:33 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Jujuy was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 10 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | 200 km W of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Jujuy, Argentina (updated )

Past 24 hours8 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days36 quakes | 7 quakes M2+ | 24 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 30 days133 quakes | 21 quakes M2+ | 87 quakes M3+ | 25 quakes M4+
Past 90 days362 quakes | 46 quakes M2+ | 256 quakes M3+ | 60 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,632 quakes | 313 quakes M2+ | 1,112 quakes M3+ | 203 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Jujuy, Argentina | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 1:30 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 4, 2022 16:30 GMT)
4.6

196 km
200 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 8:32 am (GMT -3) (Oct 4, 2022 11:32 GMT)
3.3

235 km
Jujuy, 85 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 5:29 am (GMT -3) (Oct 4, 2022 08:29 GMT)
3.2

247 km
155 km south of San Pedro de Atacama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 4:23 am (GMT -3) (Oct 4, 2022 07:23 GMT)
3.2

175 km
90 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 4, 2022 3:11 am (GMT -3) (Oct 4, 2022 06:11 GMT)
3.2

250 km
183 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 10:27 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 4, 2022 01:27 GMT)
3.1

248 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 115 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Oct 3, 2022 5:36 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 20:36 GMT)
3.5

247 km
82 km west of Abra Pampa, Departamento de Cochinoca, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 4:39 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 19:39 GMT)
4.4

226 km
57 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 12:38 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 15:38 GMT)
2.9

229 km
Antofagasta, Chile More
Oct 3, 2022 10:02 am (GMT -4) (Oct 3, 2022 14:02 GMT)
3.2

192 km
POTOSI, BOLIVIA
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 10:07 am (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 13:07 GMT)
2.8

237 km
Salta, 200 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina More
Oct 3, 2022 9:02 am (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 12:02 GMT)
2.7

224 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 143 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina More
Oct 3, 2022 8:08 am (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 11:08 GMT)
3.5

187 km
204 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 7:16 am (GMT -3) (Oct 3, 2022 10:16 GMT)
4.1

226 km
59 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Oct 2, 2022 10:03 pm (GMT -4) (Oct 3, 2022 02:03 GMT)
3.1

206 km
Chile-Bolivia Border Region
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, October 2, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 2, 2022 8:48 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 2, 2022 23:48 GMT)
2.8

242 km
Antofagasta, Argentina More
Oct 2, 2022 5:22 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 2, 2022 20:22 GMT)
3.3

229 km
Antofagasta, Chile, 128 km west of San Antonio de los Cobres, Departamento de Los Andes, Salta, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9 x 1011 joules (250 megawatt hours, equivalent to 215 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: SAN PEDRO DE ATACAMA (AF01/C1 network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station SAN PEDRO DE ATACAMA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Jujuy Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Jujuy?

The last earthquake in Jujuy occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 200 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 1:30 pm (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in Jujuy in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Jujuy, Argentina had 17 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Jujuy in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Jujuy in the past 48 hours occurred 3 hours ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 200 km west of Salta, Departamento Capital, Salta, Argentina, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 1:30 pm (GMT -3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings