Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Provincia de Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 04:25 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
A light magnitude 4.2 earthquake occurred in O'Higgins, Chile, 10 hours ago.Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (13 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 6, 2023 7:38 pm (GMT -5) (Feb 7, 2023 00:38 GMT)
3.9

48 km
South Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 6, 2023 9:01 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 7, 2023 00:01 GMT)
2.6

39 km
South Pacific Ocean, 49 km northwest of Coquimbo, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Monday, February 6, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Feb 6, 2023 3:45 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 6, 2023 18:45 GMT)
3.0

71 km
30 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 6, 2023 3:13 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 6, 2023 18:13 GMT)
4.2

107 km
34 km northeast of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 6, 2023 2:26 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 6, 2023 17:26 GMT)
3.0

34 km
South Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 6, 2023 7:28 am (GMT -3) (Feb 6, 2023 10:28 GMT)
2.7

45 km
South Pacific Ocean, 57 km southwest of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Feb 6, 2023 3:20 am (GMT -3) (Feb 6, 2023 06:20 GMT)
2.6

45 km
South Pacific Ocean, 35 km west of San Antonio, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Feb 5, 2023 9:53 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 6, 2023 00:53 GMT)
2.8

40 km
South Pacific Ocean, 100 km northwest of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile More
Sunday, February 5, 2023 GMT (5 quakes)
Feb 5, 2023 7:58 pm (GMT -3) (Feb 5, 2023 22:58 GMT)
2.9

38 km
South Pacific Ocean, 54 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Feb 5, 2023 8:36 am (GMT -3) (Feb 5, 2023 11:36 GMT)
3.3

75 km
12 km southwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 5, 2023 8:17 am (GMT -3) (Feb 5, 2023 11:17 GMT)
2.6

69 km
29 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Feb 5, 2023 6:58 am (GMT -3) (Feb 5, 2023 09:58 GMT)
3.2

38 km
South Pacific Ocean, 84 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Feb 5, 2023 4:08 am (GMT -3) (Feb 5, 2023 07:08 GMT)
4.0

31 km
South Pacific Ocean, 34 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT - 9 reports
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1011 joules (70 megawatt hours, equivalent to 60.2 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Cerro Colorado - Renca (MT05/C1 network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Cerro Colorado - Renca: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Provincia de Valparaiso Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Provincia de Valparaiso?

The last earthquake in Provincia de Valparaiso occurred 4 hours ago: Light mag. 3.9 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile, on Monday, Feb 6, 2023 at 7:38 pm (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Provincia de Valparaiso in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Provincia de Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile had 13 quakes up to magnitude 4.2.

What was the strongest quake in Provincia de Valparaiso in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Provincia de Valparaiso in the past 48 hours occurred 10 hours ago: Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - 34 km northeast of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile, on Monday, Feb 6, 2023 at 3:13 pm (GMT -3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings