Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Philippine Sea in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 13:54 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 29 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 13 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.4 | 27 km S of Bislig City, Province of Surigao del Sur, Caraga, Philippines -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.8 | Philippine Sea, 91 km NE of Bislig City, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Philippine Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours28 quakes13 quakes M2+8 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days314 quakes162 quakes M2+59 quakes M3+26 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+
Past 30 days1,348 quakes687 quakes M2+250 quakes M3+108 quakes M4+19 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+
Past 90 days4,081 quakes2,070 quakes M2+771 quakes M3+389 quakes M4+59 quakes M5+5 quakes M6+
Past 365 days17,190 quakes9,131 quakes M2+3,385 quakes M3+1,473 quakes M4+247 quakes M5+19 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (66 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 9:15 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 13:15 GMT)
2.4

1 km
27 km south of Bislig City, Province of Surigao del Sur, Caraga, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 9:04 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 2, 2022 12:04 GMT)
4.6

62 km
9.3 km southeast of Mobara, Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:42 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 08:42 GMT)
2.0

20 km
Philippine Sea, 28 km east of Surigao City, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 3:39 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 07:39 GMT)
2.1

18 km
24 km northeast of Bayugan, Province of Agusan del Sur, Caraga, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 3:09 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 07:09 GMT)
3.4

48 km
Philippine Sea, 116 km south of Mati, Province of Davao Oriental, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:09 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 2, 2022 06:09 GMT)
2.6

13 km
14 km east of Kurayoshi, Prefectura de Tottori, Japan More
Dec 2, 2022 1:39 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 05:39 GMT)
2.1

29 km
9.8 km southeast of Masinloc, Province of Zambales, Central Luzon, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 11:47 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 03:47 GMT)
2.8

6 km
South China Sea, 17 km south of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 10:48 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 02:48 GMT)
1.8

32 km
Philippine Sea, 72 km southwest of Legazpi, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 10:39 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 02:39 GMT)
2.2

1 km
12 km southeast of Tagudin, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 10:52 am (GMT +9) (Dec 2, 2022 01:52 GMT)
3.1

242 km
13 km east of Shizuoka, Prefectura de Shizuoka, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 10:37 am (GMT +9) (Dec 2, 2022 01:37 GMT)
2.9

13 km
39 km southwest of Tokushima, Japan More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (30 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 8:44 am (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 23:44 GMT)
3.7

10 km
18 km east of Nara, Japan
I FELT IT - 10 reports
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:59 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 21:59 GMT)
2.5

9 km
87 km northwest of Aparri, Cagayan, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 5:12 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 21:12 GMT)
1.9

32 km
Philippine Sea, 90 km northeast of Surigao City, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 5:28 am (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 20:28 GMT)
3.6

10 km
Molucca Sea, 162 km northwest of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:24 am (GMT +9) (Dec 1, 2022 20:24 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Molucca Sea, 120 km north of Tobelo, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:06 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 20:06 GMT)
4.6

198 km
Philippine Sea, 37 km northwest of Panalanoy, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:55 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 19:55 GMT)
1.8

10 km
15 km northeast of Tagbilaran, Bohol, Central Visayas, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 3:37 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 19:37 GMT)
1.8

34 km
Cordillera, 34 km east of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines More
Dec 2, 2022 2:12 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 18:12 GMT)
2.3

32 km
Cordillera, 32 km southeast of Batac City, Province of Ilocos Norte, Philippines More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.6 x 1012 joules (1 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 865 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Minamidaitojima Island (JMZ/JP network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Minamidaitojima Island: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Philippine Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Philippine Sea?

The last earthquake in Philippine Sea occurred 40 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.4 earthquake - 27 km south of Bislig City, Province of Surigao del Sur, Caraga, Philippines, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 9:15 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Philippine Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Philippine Sea had 66 quakes up to magnitude 4.8.

What was the strongest quake in Philippine Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Philippine Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 22 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.8 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 91 km northeast of Bislig City, Philippines, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 12:23 am (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings