2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Tarapaca, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Sunday, July 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 02:36 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Tarapaca was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 8 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 18 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | 86 km N of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Tarapaca, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:15 quakes | 9 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 7 days:93 quakes | 57 quakes M2+ | 28 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:386 quakes | 244 quakes M2+ | 120 quakes M3+ | 21 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,012 quakes | 614 quakes M2+ | 341 quakes M3+ | 55 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days:3,902 quakes | 2,454 quakes M2+ | 1,225 quakes M3+ | 205 quakes M4+ | 7 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Tarapaca, Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (30 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Jul 2, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 3, 2022 01:50 GMT)
4.6

110 km
86 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 6:58 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 22:58 GMT)
4.5

115 km
139 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 5:38 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 21:38 GMT)
2.9

134 km
87 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:58 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 20:58 GMT)
2.7

33 km
South Pacific Ocean, 32 km northwest of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 4:54 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 20:54 GMT)
2.7

120 km
41 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:14 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 20:14 GMT)
2.5

19 km
South Pacific Ocean, 39 km northwest of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:51 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 19:51 GMT)
4.2

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 45 km northwest of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:20 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 19:20 GMT)
2.8

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 42 km northwest of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 19:15 GMT)
3.5

106 km
130 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:57 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 18:57 GMT)
3.4

48 km
78 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 1:26 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 18:26 GMT)
2.9

5 km
South Pacific Ocean, 41 km northwest of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 1:02 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 18:02 GMT)
2.6

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 37 km northwest of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 12:49 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 16:49 GMT)
2.9

91 km
Tarapaca, 80 km northwest of Ollag├╝e, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 12:36 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 16:36 GMT)
2.6

85 km
98 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 6:57 am (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 11:57 GMT)
3.5

2.4 km
South Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 8:56 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 00:56 GMT)
3.0

20 km
Tarapaca, 85 km north of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1012 joules (324 megawatt hours, equivalent to 279 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Tarapaca Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tarapaca?

The last earthquake in Tarapaca occurred 46 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 86 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 9:50 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Tarapaca in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Tarapaca, Chile had 30 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Tarapaca in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Tarapaca in the past 48 hours occurred 46 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 86 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 9:50 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.