Latest quakes in or near Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Tuesday, August 9, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 9, 2022 01:02 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 1 quake between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Provincia del Tamarugal was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 1 quake of magnitude 4.6, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.8 | 90 km E of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.0 | 139 km NE of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:7 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:48 quakes | 26 quakes M2+ | 18 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days:209 quakes | 103 quakes M2+ | 88 quakes M3+ | 16 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:948 quakes | 585 quakes M2+ | 303 quakes M3+ | 56 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:3,941 quakes | 2,493 quakes M2+ | 1,219 quakes M3+ | 211 quakes M4+ | 6 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, August 8, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Aug 8, 2022 4:11 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 20:11 GMT)
3.8

108 km
90 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:07 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 18:07 GMT)
3.0

114 km
166 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 2:02 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 18:02 GMT)
3.6

79 km
85 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 12:53 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 16:53 GMT)
2.6

142 km
15 km west of Ollagüe, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 5:19 am (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 09:19 GMT)
4.6

121 km
89 km east of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 4:53 am (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 08:53 GMT)
2.7

89 km
98 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Aug 8, 2022 1:55 am (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 05:55 GMT)
2.9

93 km
114 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 8:45 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 8, 2022 00:45 GMT)
2.5

47 km
Tarapaca, 89 km northeast of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sunday, August 7, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Aug 7, 2022 5:01 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 21:01 GMT)
3.5

128 km
Tarapaca, 151 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 11:54 am (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 15:54 GMT)
3.2

119 km
104 km east of Arica, Region de Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 9:15 am (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 13:15 GMT)
2.7

124 km
90 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 8:48 am (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 12:48 GMT)
2.7

114 km
88 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 7, 2022 12:13 am (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 04:13 GMT)
2.8

101 km
111 km southeast of Huara, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Aug 6, 2022 10:41 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 02:41 GMT)
5.0

105 km
139 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT - 5 reports
MoreMap
Aug 6, 2022 10:26 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 02:26 GMT)
2.5

86 km
98 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Aug 6, 2022 10:23 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 02:23 GMT)
2.7

69 km
90 km northwest of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Aug 6, 2022 10:11 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 7, 2022 02:11 GMT)
2.6

114 km
123 km southeast of Huara, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1012 joules (713 megawatt hours, equivalent to 614 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Provincia del Tamarugal Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Provincia del Tamarugal?

The last earthquake in Provincia del Tamarugal occurred 5 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.8 earthquake - 90 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, on Monday, Aug 8, 2022 at 4:11 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Provincia del Tamarugal in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Provincia del Tamarugal, Tarapaca, Chile had 17 quakes up to magnitude 5.0.

What was the strongest quake in Provincia del Tamarugal in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Provincia del Tamarugal in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 22 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - 139 km northeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile, on Saturday, Aug 6, 2022 at 10:41 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings