Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Coquimbo Region, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 12:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.6 | 82 km W of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.3 | 47 Km WSW of Vallenar, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Coquimbo Region, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours6 quakes5 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days47 quakes27 quakes M2+18 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days158 quakes74 quakes M2+73 quakes M3+11 quakes M4+
Past 90 days444 quakes201 quakes M2+213 quakes M3+29 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days2,425 quakes1,219 quakes M2+1,061 quakes M3+135 quakes M4+10 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Coquimbo Region, Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (15 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 3:06 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 06:06 GMT)
2.6

112 km
82 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina More
Dec 2, 2022 12:21 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 03:21 GMT)
2.7

11 km
67 km northwest of Mendoza, Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina More
Dec 1, 2022 11:31 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 02:31 GMT)
2.5

103 km
Cordoba, 46 km northwest of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 7:56 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 22:56 GMT)
2.6

59 km
48 km south of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Dec 1, 2022 2:43 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 17:43 GMT)
3.5

118 km
98 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 10:11 am (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 13:11 GMT)
2.8

48 km
33 km southwest of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Dec 1, 2022 6:14 am (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 09:14 GMT)
3.1

119 km
87 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 1:00 am (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 04:00 GMT)
2.9

109 km
63 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina More
Nov 30, 2022 11:33 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 02:33 GMT)
3.1

85 km
Coquimbo Region, 43 km north of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 10:59 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 01:59 GMT)
4.3

35 km
47 Km WSW of Vallenar, Chile
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Nov 30, 2022 6:57 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 30, 2022 21:57 GMT)
2.5

27 km
25 km north of Mendoza, Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina More
Nov 30, 2022 1:25 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 30, 2022 18:25 GMT)
3.2

34 km
South Pacific Ocean, 78 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 30, 2022 18:15 GMT)
3.0

125 km
103 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 3:15 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 30, 2022 18:15 GMT)
3.2

131 km
114 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Nov 30, 2022 12:36 pm (GMT -3) (Nov 30, 2022 15:36 GMT)
3.4

118 km
80 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.2 x 1011 joules (60.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 52 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: El Pedregal (CO03/C1 network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station El Pedregal: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Coquimbo Region Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Coquimbo Region?

The last earthquake in Coquimbo Region occurred 6 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.6 earthquake - 82 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 3:06 am (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in Coquimbo Region in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Coquimbo Region, Chile had 15 quakes up to magnitude 4.3.

What was the strongest quake in Coquimbo Region in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Coquimbo Region in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 10 hours ago: Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - 47 Km WSW of Vallenar, Chile, on Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022 at 10:59 pm (GMT -3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings