Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the Caribbean Sea in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 25 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 13 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, the Caribbean Sea had 1 quake of magnitude 5.0, 7 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 25 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 36 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 80 km S of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.0 | North Atlantic Ocean, 94 km NE of Saint John, Antigua & Barbuda -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in the Caribbean Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours46 quakes | 16 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 7 days315 quakes | 160 quakes M2+ | 86 quakes M3+ | 20 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 30 days1,667 quakes | 876 quakes M2+ | 370 quakes M3+ | 63 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+
Past 90 days4,602 quakes | 2,553 quakes M2+ | 1,140 quakes M3+ | 148 quakes M4+ | 9 quakes M5+
Past 365 days15,253 quakes | 7,715 quakes M2+ | 4,507 quakes M3+ | 598 quakes M4+ | 44 quakes M5+ | 4 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 1.9 or higher (70 out of 82 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (27 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 9:11 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 15:11 GMT)
2.8

28 km
North Pacific Ocean, 80 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Sep 29, 2022 10:45 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 14:45 GMT)
2.5

5 km
6.1 km southwest of San Juan de la Maguana, Dominican Republic More
Sep 29, 2022 8:27 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 14:27 GMT)
3.1

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 43 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 8:12 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 14:12 GMT)
4.2

4 km
North Pacific Ocean, 47 km south of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 9 reports
More
Sep 29, 2022 9:36 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 13:36 GMT)
2.9

8.8 km
Département de Nippes, 34 km northeast of Les Cayes, Haiti
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 9:28 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 13:28 GMT)
2.2

10.5 km
Puerto Rico Region More
Sep 29, 2022 7:01 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 13:01 GMT)
3.0

5 km
12 km southeast of Ciudad Quesada, San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 29, 2022 4:46 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 10:46 GMT)
3.0

13 km
39 km southwest of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 2:33 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 08:33 GMT)
3.0

87 km
13 km west of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 2:33 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 08:33 GMT)
3.8

101 km
14 km west of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 2:50 am (GMT -5) (Sep 29, 2022 07:50 GMT)
2.0

125 km
Departamento del Cesar, 48 km south of Ocaña, Norte de Santander, Colombia More
Sep 29, 2022 3:40 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 07:40 GMT)
2.1

14 km
12 Km SSE of Guánica, Puerto Rico More
Sep 29, 2022 2:57 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 06:57 GMT)
3.7

30 km
North Atlantic Ocean, 118 km northeast of San Juan, Puerto Rico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 12:45 am (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 06:45 GMT)
2.4

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 55 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Sep 29, 2022 2:44 am (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 06:44 GMT)
2.1

10.8 km
33 km south of Valera, Trujillo, Venezuela More
Sep 28, 2022 11:32 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 05:32 GMT)
2.5

50 km
31 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Sep 28, 2022 10:53 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:53 GMT)
2.5

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 65 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador More
Sep 28, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:43 GMT)
4.1

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:27 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:27 GMT)
4.0

40 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 10:27 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 29, 2022 04:27 GMT)
4.1

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 11:44 pm (GMT -4) (Sep 29, 2022 03:44 GMT)
2.5

130 km
8.1 km southwest of San Fernando de Monte Cristi, Dominican Republic More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.1 x 1012 joules (853 megawatt hours, equivalent to 734 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Santa Marta, Magdalena, Colombia (SMAR/CM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Santa Marta, Magdalena, Colombia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Caribbean Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the Caribbean Sea?

The last earthquake in the Caribbean Sea occurred 3 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 80 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 9:11 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in the Caribbean Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Caribbean Sea had 70 quakes up to magnitude 5.0.

What was the strongest quake in the Caribbean Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the Caribbean Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 23 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, 94 km northeast of Saint John, Antigua & Barbuda, on Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022 at 3:48 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings