Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Atacama, Chile, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:32 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 5 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 26 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 28 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.9 | 44 km E of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.5 | 35 km SE of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Atacama, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours3 quakes1 quake M2+2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days19 quakes8 quakes M2+10 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 30 days59 quakes28 quakes M2+26 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+
Past 90 days216 quakes108 quakes M2+90 quakes M3+18 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,051 quakes491 quakes M2+466 quakes M3+89 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Atacama, Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (59 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, December 31, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 31, 2022 12:42 am (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2022 03:42 GMT)
2.9

110 km
106 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile 3 reportsMore
Dec 30, 2022 10:26 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 31, 2022 01:26 GMT)
2.5

103 km
87 km northeast of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Friday, December 30, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 30, 2022 4:58 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2022 19:58 GMT)
3.0

113 km
La Rioja, 175 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Dec 30, 2022 7:29 am (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2022 10:29 GMT)
3.1

108 km
198 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile More
Dec 29, 2022 11:01 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2022 02:01 GMT)
3.3

34 km
South Pacific Ocean, 89 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Dec 29, 2022 10:49 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2022 01:49 GMT)
4.5

93 km
35 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Dec 29, 2022 10:48 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 30, 2022 01:48 GMT)
2.6

30 km
South Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Thursday, December 29, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 29, 2022 8:30 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 29, 2022 23:30 GMT)
2.8

70 km
47 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Friday, January 20, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 19, 2023 11:50 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 20, 2023 02:50 GMT)
3.1

49 km
South Pacific Ocean, 82 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Thursday, January 19, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Jan 19, 2023 7:07 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 19, 2023 22:07 GMT)
2.7

51 km
South Pacific Ocean, 13 km west of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Jan 19, 2023 6:02 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 19, 2023 21:02 GMT)
3.2

106 km
63 km south of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Jan 19, 2023 1:39 am (GMT -3) (Jan 19, 2023 04:39 GMT)
2.7

35 km
South Pacific Ocean, 72 km northwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Jan 19, 2023 12:31 am (GMT -3) (Jan 19, 2023 03:31 GMT)
2.5

51 km
South Pacific Ocean, 60 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 17, 2023 4:08 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 17, 2023 19:08 GMT)
4.3

124 km
220 km northeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Saturday, January 14, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 14, 2023 12:01 am (GMT -3) (Jan 14, 2023 03:01 GMT)
2.9

54 km
South Pacific Ocean, 92 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Thursday, January 12, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Jan 12, 2023 4:03 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 12, 2023 19:03 GMT)
3.1

55 km
South Pacific Ocean, 25 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Jan 12, 2023 2:26 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 12, 2023 17:26 GMT)
3.1

81 km
76 km east of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile More
Jan 12, 2023 6:22 am (GMT -3) (Jan 12, 2023 09:22 GMT)
3.6

54 km
67 km southwest of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Jan 12, 2023 4:11 am (GMT -3) (Jan 12, 2023 07:11 GMT)
3.0

43 km
34 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Wednesday, January 11, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 11, 2023 3:20 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 11, 2023 20:20 GMT)
4.0

54 km
South Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile 1 reportMore
Jan 11, 2023 6:33 am (GMT -3) (Jan 11, 2023 09:33 GMT)
3.0

95 km
72 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1012 joules (333 megawatt hours, equivalent to 286 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Copiapo (Tierra Amarilla), Chile (GO03/C network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Copiapo (Tierra Amarilla), Chile: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Atacama Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Atacama?

The last earthquake in Atacama occurred 6 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.9 earthquake - 44 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 1:35 am (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in Atacama past month?

In the past 30 days, Atacama, Chile had 59 quakes up to magnitude 4.5.

What was the strongest quake in Atacama past month?

The strongest earthquake in Atacama past month occurred 4 weeks ago: Light mag. 4.5 earthquake - 35 km southeast of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile, on Thursday, Dec 29, 2022 at 10:49 pm (GMT -3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings