Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Atacama, Chile, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 24, 2023 12:34 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 8
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 7 and 8
  • 73 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 522 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6

Latest quake: Mag. 5.1 | South Pacific Ocean, 50 km NW of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 8.5 | Provincia de Copiapo, 94 km E of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Atacama, Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (603 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jun 24, 2022 11:54 pm (GMT -4) (Jun 25, 2022 03:54 GMT)
5.1

67 km
384 km (239 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 50 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 8 reportsMore
May 20, 2022 4:07 am (GMT -5) (May 20, 2022 09:07 GMT)
5.8

10 km
423 km (263 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 86 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 24 reportsMore
Mar 30, 2022 8:17 pm (GMT -3) (Mar 30, 2022 23:17 GMT)
5.0

24 km
325 km (202 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 73 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile 1 reportMore
Mar 12, 2022 7:27 am (GMT -5) (Mar 12, 2022 12:27 GMT)
5.1

10.3 km
250 km (155 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 88 km west of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile 2 reportsMore
Mar 6, 2022 6:35 am (GMT -3) (Mar 6, 2022 09:35 GMT)
5.5

118 km
154 km (96 mi)146 km northwest of Chilecito, La Rioja, Argentina 3 reportsMore
Jan 13, 2022 1:19 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 13, 2022 18:19 GMT)
5.0

16 km
250 km (155 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile 2 reportsMore
Jan 7, 2022 10:24 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 8, 2022 03:24 GMT)
5.9

13 km
247 km (153 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Chile More
Dec 13, 2021 11:23 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 14, 2021 04:23 GMT)
5.5

22 km
326 km (203 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 75 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile 5 reportsMore
Dec 11, 2021 11:54 am (GMT -3) (Dec 11, 2021 14:54 GMT)
5.7

53 km
364 km (226 mi)40 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 28 reportsMore
Dec 5, 2021 6:51 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 5, 2021 21:51 GMT)
5.1

97 km
39 km (24 mi)236 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile 1 reportMore
Nov 8, 2021 1:52 am (GMT -3) (Nov 8, 2021 04:52 GMT)
5.2

101 km
343 km (213 mi)Atacama, 89 km north of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile 4 reportsMore
Sep 1, 2021 2:35 pm (GMT -4) (Sep 1, 2021 18:35 GMT)
5.6

21 km
241 km (150 mi)72 km southwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile 8 reportsMore
Sep 1, 2021 10:35 am (GMT -5) (Sep 1, 2021 15:35 GMT)
5.9

11 km
267 km (166 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 106 km west of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile More
Aug 24, 2021 8:28 pm (GMT -4) (Aug 25, 2021 00:28 GMT)
5.1

94 km
82 km (51 mi)111 km east of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile 3 reportsMore
Jul 8, 2021 3:38 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 8, 2021 20:38 GMT)
5.5

35 km
353 km (219 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 78 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile 4 reportsMore
Jul 3, 2021 8:29 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 4, 2021 01:29 GMT)
5.8

35 km
346 km (215 mi)Chile: 49 Km Al SO De Huasco 7 reportsMore
3 Jul 9:01 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 4, 2021 01:01 GMT)
5.9

24 km
347 km (216 mi)Chile: 50 Km Al SO De Huasco 16 reportsMore
Jan 27, 2021 5:00 pm (GMT -3) (Jan 27, 2021 20:00 GMT)
5.5

10 km
279 km (173 mi)SAN JUAN (Argentina) 3 reportsMore
Nov 16, 2020 3:18 pm (GMT -5) (Nov 16, 2020 20:18 GMT)
5.1

49 km
318 km (198 mi)13 Km Al E De Huasco, Chile 2 reportsMore
Oct 28, 2020 11:53 am (GMT -3) (Oct 28, 2020 14:53 GMT)
5.8

60 km
345 km (214 mi)20 Km Al N De La Higuera, Chile 38 reportsMore
Oct 21, 2020 6:13 am (GMT -3) (Oct 21, 2020 09:13 GMT)
5.7

24 km
225 km (140 mi)39 Km Al SO De Taltal, Chile 3 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.6 x 1017 joules (1.3 x 105 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.1 x 108 tons of TNT or 6889.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Copiapo (Tierra Amarilla), Chile (GO03/C network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Copiapo (Tierra Amarilla), Chile: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Atacama Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Atacama?

The last earthquake in Atacama occurred 31 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 5.1 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 50 km northwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile, on Friday, Jun 24, 2022 at 11:54 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Atacama since 1900?

Since 1900, Atacama, Chile had 603 quakes up to magnitude 8.5.

What was the strongest quake in Atacama since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Atacama since 1900 occurred 100 years ago: Major magnitude 8.5 earthquake - Provincia de Copiapo, 94 km east of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile, on Saturday, November 11, 1922 at 04:32 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings