Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the Eastern Mediterranean in the past 48 hours on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 5, 2022 21:07 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 19 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 14 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, the Eastern Mediterranean had 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 19 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 14 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.4 | Nicosia, 21 km N of Zypern Island, Cyprus -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.1 | Ionian Sea, 62 km SW of Gythio, Laconia, Peloponnese, Greece -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in the Eastern Mediterranean (updated )

Past 24 hours12 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days171 quakes | 85 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days940 quakes | 430 quakes M2+ | 137 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days2,939 quakes | 1,411 quakes M2+ | 293 quakes M3+ | 18 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days15,069 quakes | 6,271 quakes M2+ | 1,151 quakes M3+ | 83 quakes M4+ | 13 quakes M5+ | 3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (35 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 9:26 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 18:26 GMT)
2.4

18 km
Nicosia, 21 km north of Zypern Island, Cyprus More
Oct 5, 2022 9:26 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 18:26 GMT)
3.0

30 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 25 km southwest of Paphos, Cyprus
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 7:48 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 16:48 GMT)
1.8

5 km
26 km northeast of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 5, 2022 7:48 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 16:48 GMT)
1.8

5 km
26 km northeast of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 5, 2022 2:58 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 11:58 GMT)
3.1

5 km
Ionian Sea, 62 km southwest of Gythio, Laconia, Peloponnese, Greece
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 2:46 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 11:46 GMT)
1.5

4.8 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 45 km southwest of Silifke, Mersin, Turkey More
Oct 5, 2022 2:05 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 11:05 GMT)
2.0

7.2 km
9.7 km south of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 5, 2022 3:23 am (GMT +3) (Oct 5, 2022 00:23 GMT)
2.9

62 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 75 km east of Famagusta, Cyprus More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (22 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 2:58 am (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 23:58 GMT)
1.1

21 km
Turkey: SIRINKOY-ULA (MUGLA) More
Oct 5, 2022 2:14 am (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 23:14 GMT)
2.3

4.3 km
29 km northeast of Ortaca, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 5, 2022 1:37 am (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 22:37 GMT)
1.5

19 km
15 km south of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 5, 2022 12:43 am (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 21:43 GMT)
2.4

34 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 265 km south of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece More
Oct 4, 2022 10:54 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 19:54 GMT)
1.6

27 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 14 km southwest of Ierapetra, Lasithi, Crete, Greece More
Oct 4, 2022 9:57 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 18:57 GMT)
2.0

7.8 km
17 km south of Mugla, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 4, 2022 8:50 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 17:50 GMT)
2.1

9.7 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 81 km south of Fethiye, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 4, 2022 8:12 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 17:12 GMT)
2.4

11 km
21 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece More
Oct 4, 2022 7:47 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 16:47 GMT)
2.5

29 km
Eastern Mediterranean, 78 km southwest of Chania, Crete, Greece More
Oct 4, 2022 4:49 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 13:49 GMT)
2.3

9.6 km
Aegean Sea, 30 km east of Bodrum, Muğla, Turkey More
Oct 4, 2022 2:43 pm (GMT +1) (Oct 4, 2022 13:43 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Manouba, 23 km west of Tunis More
Oct 4, 2022 4:29 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 13:29 GMT)
1.9

9 km
18 km southeast of Chania, Crete, Greece More
Oct 4, 2022 4:28 pm (GMT +3) (Oct 4, 2022 13:28 GMT)
2.9

118 km
Aegean Sea, 89 km southwest of Kos Stadt, Dodecanese, South Aegean, Greece More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1010 joules (3.61 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.11 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Celeste, Italy (CEL/MN network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Celeste, Italy: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Eastern Mediterranean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the Eastern Mediterranean?

The last earthquake in the Eastern Mediterranean occurred 2 hours and 41 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.4 earthquake - Nicosia, 21 km north of Zypern Island, Cyprus, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 9:26 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in the Eastern Mediterranean in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Eastern Mediterranean had 35 quakes up to magnitude 3.1.

What was the strongest quake in the Eastern Mediterranean in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the Eastern Mediterranean in the past 48 hours occurred 9 hours ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - Ionian Sea, 62 km southwest of Gythio, Laconia, Peloponnese, Greece, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 2:58 pm (GMT +3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings