Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Baja California, Mexico, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, September 29, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 29, 2022 18:44 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 21 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Baja California had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above. There were also 21 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.5 | 7km ESE of Chula Vista, CA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 86 km SW of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Baja California, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days46 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 7 quakes M3+
Past 30 days217 quakes | 26 quakes M2+ | 51 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days660 quakes | 77 quakes M2+ | 224 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days3,072 quakes | 346 quakes M2+ | 1,103 quakes M3+ | 249 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Baja California, Mexico | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (24 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, September 29, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Sep 29, 2022 11:38 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 18:38 GMT)
1.5

2.9 km
7km ESE of Chula Vista, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 6:11 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 13:11 GMT)
0.7

10.7 km
25km SSW of Ocotillo Wells, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 5:08 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 12:08 GMT)
1.4

16 km
17km W of La Jolla, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 3:04 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 10:04 GMT)
0.6

15 km
3km NNW of Julian, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 3:02 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 10:02 GMT)
1.0

14 km
3km NW of Julian, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 2:57 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 09:57 GMT)
3.6

5 km
86 km southwest of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 29, 2022 2:57 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 09:57 GMT)
1.3

15 km
18km WSW of La Jolla, CA More
Sep 29, 2022 2:56 am (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 09:56 GMT)
1.5

13 km
3km NW of Julian, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 6:31 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 29, 2022 01:31 GMT)
1.4

8 km
11km ENE of Ocotillo Wells, CA More
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 GMT (12 quakes)
Sep 28, 2022 4:05 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 23:05 GMT)
0.7

13 km
26km ENE of Pine Valley, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 1:49 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 20:49 GMT)
3.4

4 km
79 km north of Santa Rosalia, Mulegé, Baja California Sur, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sep 28, 2022 1:32 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 20:32 GMT)
1.0

0.2 km
2km SSW of San Marcos, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 1:03 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 20:03 GMT)
1.0

0.1 km
7km NW of La Mesa, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 12:24 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 19:24 GMT)
1.0

7.3 km
18km ESE of Julian, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 12:24 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 19:24 GMT)
1.0

7.7 km
18km ESE of Julian, CA More
Sep 28, 2022 2:53 am (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 09:53 GMT)
1.1

8.8 km
19km WNW of Ocotillo, CA More
Sep 27, 2022 9:38 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 04:38 GMT)
1.2

8.9 km
11km NE of Julian, CA More
Sep 27, 2022 8:42 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 03:42 GMT)
0.8

7.2 km
27km SSW of Ocotillo Wells, CA More
Sep 27, 2022 8:25 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 03:25 GMT)
0.6

10.9 km
18km WNW of Ocotillo, CA More
Sep 27, 2022 6:53 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 01:53 GMT)
0.9

5.4 km
15km ENE of Ocotillo, CA More
Sep 27, 2022 6:36 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 28, 2022 01:36 GMT)
1.6

4 km
15km ENE of Ocotillo, CA More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1010 joules (7.19 megawatt hours, equivalent to 6.19 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: In-Ko-Pah (IKP/CI network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station In-Ko-Pah: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Baja California Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Baja California?

The last earthquake in Baja California occurred 6 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.5 earthquake - 7km ESE of Chula Vista, CA, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 11:38 am (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Baja California in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Baja California, Mexico had 24 quakes up to magnitude 3.6.

What was the strongest quake in Baja California in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Baja California in the past 48 hours occurred 9 hours ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - 86 km southwest of Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico, on Thursday, Sep 29, 2022 at 2:57 am (GMT -7).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings