2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near South China Sea in the past 48 hours on Sunday, July 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 01:53 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 15 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 11 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, South China Sea was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.5, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 15 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 11 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | 22 km NE of Masinloc, Province of Zambales, Central Luzon, Philippines -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.5 | Philippine Sea, 77 km SE of Taitung City, Taiwan -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near South China Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours:17 quakes | 9 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:114 quakes | 53 quakes M2+ | 16 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 30 days:567 quakes | 296 quakes M2+ | 75 quakes M3+ | 38 quakes M4+ | 7 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 90 days:2,014 quakes | 1,134 quakes M2+ | 251 quakes M3+ | 101 quakes M4+ | 15 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+
Past 365 days:7,884 quakes | 4,641 quakes M2+ | 990 quakes M3+ | 357 quakes M4+ | 55 quakes M5+ | 6 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (32 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, July 3, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 9:34 am (GMT +8) (Jul 3, 2022 01:34 GMT)
2.5

14 km
22 km northeast of Masinloc, Province of Zambales, Central Luzon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 8:40 am (GMT +8) (Jul 3, 2022 00:40 GMT)
2.1

19 km
Central Visayas, 20 km southeast of Tinongan, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 8:18 am (GMT +8) (Jul 3, 2022 00:18 GMT)
1.5

105 km
South China Sea, 14 km south of Calatagan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Jul 3, 2022 7:58 am (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 23:58 GMT)
2.1

11 km
12 km southwest of Claveria, Cagayan, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 4:36 am (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 20:36 GMT)
2.2

29 km
South China Sea, 89 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 1:22 am (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 17:22 GMT)
2.1

24 km
13 km southeast of Tinongan, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:58 am (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 16:58 GMT)
1.8

26 km
South China Sea, 99 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:57 am (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 16:57 GMT)
2.8

17 km
Sulu Sea, 24 km north of Sipalay, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 3, 2022 12:26 am (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 16:26 GMT)
1.7

35 km
Cordillera, 15 km northwest of Ramon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 11:28 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 15:28 GMT)
2.0

9 km
35 km southeast of Ilagan, Province of Isabela, Cagayan Valley, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 10:56 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 14:56 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Central Visayas, 22 km southeast of Tinongan, Philippines
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 10:44 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 14:44 GMT)
2.5

24 km
Philippine Sea, 49 km south of Catanauan, Quezon, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 9:50 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 13:50 GMT)
2.1

109 km
South China Sea, 16 km south of Calatagan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 9:21 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 13:21 GMT)
1.9

45 km
South China Sea, 47 km northwest of Aparri, Cagayan, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 9:11 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 13:11 GMT)
2.3

24 km
South China Sea, 34 km southwest of Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:46 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 2, 2022 12:46 GMT)
3.1

22 km
6.4 km northeast of Sibalom, Province of Antique, Western Visayas, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1011 joules (105 megawatt hours, equivalent to 90.1 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

South China Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in South China Sea?

The last earthquake in South China Sea occurred 20 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - 22 km northeast of Masinloc, Province of Zambales, Central Luzon, Philippines, on Sunday, Jul 3, 2022 at 9:34 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in South China Sea in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, South China Sea had 32 quakes up to magnitude 4.5.

What was the strongest quake in South China Sea in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in South China Sea in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 12 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.5 earthquake - Philippine Sea, 77 km southeast of Taitung City, Taiwan, on Friday, Jul 1, 2022 at 9:32 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.