2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Region de Valparaiso, Chile, in the past 48 hours on Sunday, July 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 3, 2022 01:41 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 48 hours, Region de Valparaiso was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 5 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 10 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 67 km SW of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.4 | South Pacific Ocean, 158 km NW of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Region de Valparaiso, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:58 quakes | 28 quakes M2+ | 24 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:241 quakes | 103 quakes M2+ | 122 quakes M3+ | 14 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days:796 quakes | 314 quakes M2+ | 410 quakes M3+ | 64 quakes M4+ | 8 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:3,863 quakes | 2,058 quakes M2+ | 1,556 quakes M3+ | 222 quakes M4+ | 27 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Region de Valparaiso, Chile | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 4:49 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 20:49 GMT)
3.6

37 km
67 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 18:24 GMT)
2.5

42 km
South Pacific Ocean, 57 km west of Vallenar, Huasco, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 12:07 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 16:07 GMT)
3.0

49 km
31 km west of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:56 am (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 13:56 GMT)
2.7

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 63 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:46 am (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 13:46 GMT)
2.7

27 km
South Pacific Ocean, 61 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:30 am (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 12:30 GMT)
2.9

29 km
43 km northwest of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:26 am (GMT -4) (Jul 2, 2022 12:26 GMT)
3.6

9.9 km
65 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 5:04 am (GMT -5) (Jul 2, 2022 10:04 GMT)
4.4

23 km
South Pacific Ocean, 158 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, July 1, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Jul 1, 2022 6:24 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 22:24 GMT)
4.0

24 km
South Pacific Ocean, 52 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 5:16 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 21:16 GMT)
2.5

63 km
Santiago, 34 km northwest of Rancagua, Provincia de Cachapoal, O'Higgins, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 3:06 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 19:06 GMT)
2.7

63 km
South Pacific Ocean, 52 km northwest of La Ligua, Petorca Province, Region de Valparaiso, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 1:06 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 17:06 GMT)
3.2

72 km
35 km southwest of Santiago de Chile, Provincia de Santiago, Chile
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 1:00 pm (GMT -3) (Jul 1, 2022 16:00 GMT)
3.4

5 km
40 km west of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 10:58 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 14:58 GMT)
2.6

26 km
South Pacific Ocean, 83 km west of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 2:39 am (GMT -3) (Jul 1, 2022 05:39 GMT)
2.8

143 km
35 km northwest of Calingasta, San Juan, Argentina MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 12:52 am (GMT -4) (Jul 1, 2022 04:52 GMT)
2.9

30 km
30 km north of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 1011 joules (102 megawatt hours, equivalent to 87.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Region de Valparaiso Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Region de Valparaiso?

The last earthquake in Region de Valparaiso occurred 5 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.6 earthquake - 67 km southwest of La Serena, Provincia de Elqui, Coquimbo Region, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 4:49 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Region de Valparaiso in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Region de Valparaiso, Chile had 17 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in Region de Valparaiso in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Region de Valparaiso in the past 48 hours occurred 16 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 158 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 5:04 am (GMT -5).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.