Latest quakes in or near Cordillera, Philippines, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 01:15 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 20 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 7 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Cordillera was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.2, 3 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 20 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 1.6 | Cordillera, 34 km E of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.2 | South China Sea, 18 km SW of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Cordillera, Philippines (updated )

Past 24 hours:17 quakes | 11 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:155 quakes | 94 quakes M2+ | 20 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:1,364 quakes | 816 quakes M2+ | 174 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+ | 0 quakes M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 90 days:1,752 quakes | 1,045 quakes M2+ | 216 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+
Past 365 days:3,009 quakes | 1,865 quakes M2+ | 331 quakes M3+ | 39 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+ | 1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Cordillera, Philippines | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (31 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 18, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 8:35 am (GMT +8) (Aug 18, 2022 00:35 GMT)
1.6

21 km
Cordillera, 34 km east of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 8:16 am (GMT +8) (Aug 18, 2022 00:16 GMT)
2.3

10 km
Cordillera, 32 km southeast of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines MoreMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
Aug 18, 2022 4:13 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 20:13 GMT)
3.2

29 km
South China Sea, 32 km southwest of Batac City, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 3:49 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 19:49 GMT)
2.7

6 km
South China Sea, 15 km north of Tagudin, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 1:12 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 17:12 GMT)
2.3

19 km
Cordillera, 33 km southeast of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 18, 2022 12:49 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 16:49 GMT)
2.3

64 km
South China Sea, 8.5 km south of San Fernando, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:41 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 14:41 GMT)
2.3

48 km
Cordillera, 15 km east of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:17 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 13:17 GMT)
3.7

9 km
Cordillera, 17 km east of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:44 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 12:44 GMT)
2.0

1 km
12 km east of Bantay, Province of Abra, Cordillera, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 8:05 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 12:05 GMT)
2.0

8 km
17 km south of Mankayan, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 6:22 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 10:22 GMT)
2.3

7 km
Cordillera, 31 km southeast of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 5:10 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 09:10 GMT)
2.5

4 km
26 km southeast of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:21 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 07:21 GMT)
3.6

26 km
South China Sea, 28 km northwest of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 11:00 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 03:00 GMT)
1.8

11 km
29 km northeast of Baguio City, Province of Benguet, Cordillera, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:49 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 02:49 GMT)
2.2

10 km
16 km northwest of Bontoc, Mountain Province, Cordillera, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 10:23 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 02:23 GMT)
2.1

20 km
Philippines: 003 Km N 15° W of San Isidro (Abra) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:46 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 01:46 GMT)
1.5

8 km
Philippines: 006 Km S 54° E of Lagangilang (Abra) MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (14 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 5:15 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 21:15 GMT)
1.6

24 km
Philippines: 002 Km S 24° W of Lagayan (Abra) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 4:59 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 20:59 GMT)
2.5

17 km
Philippines: 004 Km N 81° W of San Isidro (Abra) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:38 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 19:38 GMT)
2.0

104 km
Philippines: 011 Km N 80° E of Alilem (Ilocos Sur) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 3:10 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 19:10 GMT)
2.3

18 km
Philippines: 005 Km N 39° W of Manabo (Abra) MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1011 joules (48 megawatt hours, equivalent to 41.3 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Cordillera Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Cordillera?

The last earthquake in Cordillera occurred 41 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.6 earthquake - Cordillera, 34 km east of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines, on Thursday, Aug 18, 2022 at 8:35 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Cordillera in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Cordillera, Philippines had 31 quakes up to magnitude 4.2.

What was the strongest quake in Cordillera in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Cordillera in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 11 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.2 earthquake - South China Sea, 18 km southwest of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Philippines, on Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022 at 10:01 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings