Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Oaxaca, Mexico, in the past 48 hours on Monday, November 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Abejones | Acatlan de Pérez Figueroa | Animas Trujano | Asuncion Cacalotepec | Asuncion Cuyotepeji | Asuncion Ixtaltepec | Asuncion Nochixtlan | Asuncion Ocotlan | Asuncion Tlacolulita | Ayoquezco de Aldama | Ayotzintepec | Calihuala | Candelaria Loxicha | Capulalpam de Méndez | Chahuites | Chalcatongo de Hidalgo | Chiquihuitlan de Benito Juarez | Ciudad Ixtepec | Ciénega de Zimatlan | Coatecas Altas | ...Show all... | Zapotitlan Palmas | Zimatlan de Alvarez
Updated: Nov 28, 2022 04:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 9 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.2 | 63 km NW of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Oaxaca, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours7 quakes0 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days55 quakes0 quakes M2+31 quakes M3+24 quakes M4+
Past 30 days322 quakes3 quakes M2+255 quakes M3+64 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,067 quakes18 quakes M2+861 quakes M3+185 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days5,303 quakes101 quakes M2+4,448 quakes M3+740 quakes M4+8 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Oaxaca, Mexico | Worldwide

Abejones | Acatlan de Pérez Figueroa | Animas Trujano | Asuncion Cacalotepec | Asuncion Cuyotepeji | Asuncion Ixtaltepec | Asuncion Nochixtlan | Asuncion Ocotlan | Asuncion Tlacolulita | Ayoquezco de Aldama | Ayotzintepec | Calihuala | ...Show all... | Zapotitlan Palmas | Zimatlan de Alvarez
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, November 28, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Nov 27, 2022 9:42 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 28, 2022 03:42 GMT)
4.2

118 km
63 km northwest of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, November 27, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Nov 27, 2022 2:41 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 27, 2022 21:41 GMT)
3.5

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 93 km south of Collantes, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 4:38 am (GMT -6) (Nov 27, 2022 10:38 GMT)
3.2

10 km
19 km southwest of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 3:54 am (GMT -6) (Nov 27, 2022 09:54 GMT)
3.5

44 km
12 km west of Crucecita, Santa Maria Huatulco, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 2:50 am (GMT -7) (Nov 27, 2022 09:50 GMT)
3.8

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 76 km south of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 2:48 am (GMT -7) (Nov 27, 2022 09:48 GMT)
4.0

12 km
North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Santa Rosa de Lima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 1:43 am (GMT -6) (Nov 27, 2022 07:43 GMT)
3.2

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 67 km southwest of Pijijiapan, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 7:29 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 27, 2022 02:29 GMT)
4.1

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 58 km south of Collantes, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 27, 2022 01:40 GMT)
4.2

129 km
Veracruz, 43 km northeast of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Saturday, November 26, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Nov 26, 2022 3:58 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 26, 2022 22:58 GMT)
4.2

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 67 km southwest of Rio Grande, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 2:30 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 20:30 GMT)
3.6

71 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of Chahuites, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 1:02 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 19:02 GMT)
3.1

5 km
11 km south of Santiago Pinotepa Nacional, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 5:57 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 11:57 GMT)
4.0

6 km
46 km northwest of Puerto Escondido, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 5:35 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 11:35 GMT)
4.0

91 km
17 km southwest of Tonala, Chiapas, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 4:44 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 10:44 GMT)
4.0

4 km
North Pacific Ocean, 32 km south of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 4:39 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 10:39 GMT)
3.6

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, 75 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 4:36 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 10:36 GMT)
3.4

31 km
4.4 km north of Rio Grande, Villa de Tututepec de Melchor Ocampo, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 4:01 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 10:01 GMT)
4.0

6 km
North Pacific Ocean, 25 km southeast of Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 3:55 am (GMT -6) (Nov 26, 2022 09:55 GMT)
3.5

5 km
15 km southwest of Ometepec, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9 x 1011 joules (249 megawatt hours, equivalent to 215 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: TLAPA (TLIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station TLAPA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Oaxaca Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Oaxaca?

The last earthquake in Oaxaca occurred 1 hour and 1 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - 63 km northwest of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Sunday, Nov 27, 2022 at 9:42 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Oaxaca in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Oaxaca, Mexico had 19 quakes up to magnitude 4.2.

What was the strongest quake in Oaxaca in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Oaxaca in the past 48 hours occurred 1 hour and 1 minutes ago: Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - 63 km northwest of Matias Romero Avendaño, Oaxaca, Mexico, on Sunday, Nov 27, 2022 at 9:42 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings