Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Michoacan, Mexico, in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:47 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
There were 12 quakes of magnitude 3.0+ in or near Michoacan in the past 48 hours.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 38 km SE of Arcelia, Guerrero, Mexico -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.8 | 36 km W of Autlan de Navarro, Jalisco, Mexico -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Michoacan, Mexico (updated )

Past 24 hours4 quakes0 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+
Past 7 days42 quakes2 quakes M2+36 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+
Past 30 days195 quakes5 quakes M2+176 quakes M3+13 quakes M4+
Past 90 days744 quakes9 quakes M2+658 quakes M3+74 quakes M4+
Past 365 days2,614 quakes90 quakes M2+2,235 quakes M3+271 quakes M4+7 quakes M5+1 quake M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Michoacan, Mexico | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (8 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 3:58 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 21:58 GMT)
3.6

57 km
38 km southeast of Arcelia, Guerrero, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 1:50 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 19:50 GMT)
3.6

6.1 km
43 km west of Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 12:50 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 18:50 GMT)
3.8

38 km
36 km west of Autlan de Navarro, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 12:36 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 18:36 GMT)
3.8

5 km
9 km west of Aguililla, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:41 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 10:41 GMT)
3.7

5.8 km
North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southeast of La Placita de Morelos, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:24 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 09:24 GMT)
3.5

14 km
7.1 km west of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:22 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 09:22 GMT)
3.5

57 km
Jalisco, 26 km northwest of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 2:19 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 08:19 GMT)
3.2

32 km
34 km west of Cd. Guzman, Zapotlan El Grande, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Jan 25, 2023 2:50 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 25, 2023 20:50 GMT)
3.6

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southeast of La Placita de Morelos, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 1:58 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 25, 2023 19:58 GMT)
3.5

16 km
58 km northwest of Lazaro Cardenas, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 1:26 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 25, 2023 19:26 GMT)
3.6

43 km
34 km west of Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Jan 25, 2023 4:53 am (GMT -6) (Jan 25, 2023 10:53 GMT)
3.7

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, 57 km southeast of La Placita de Morelos, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1011 joules (58.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 50 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Morelia, Mich, MX (MOIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Morelia, Mich, MX: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Michoacan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Michoacan?

The last earthquake in Michoacan occurred 13 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.6 earthquake - 38 km southeast of Arcelia, Guerrero, Mexico, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 3:58 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Michoacan in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Michoacan, Mexico had 12 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Michoacan in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Michoacan in the past 48 hours occurred 16 hours ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - 36 km west of Autlan de Navarro, Jalisco, Mexico, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 12:50 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings