Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Tokyo, Japan, in the past 48 hours on Monday, November 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 28, 2022 05:55 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | North Pacific Ocean, 93 km E of Kashima-shi, Ibaraki, Japan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.0 | North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Tokyo, Japan (updated )

Past 24 hours8 quakes5 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+0 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 7 days43 quakes22 quakes M2+10 quakes M3+9 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 30 days133 quakes64 quakes M2+33 quakes M3+30 quakes M4+5 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 90 days371 quakes179 quakes M2+107 quakes M3+74 quakes M4+10 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days1,771 quakes847 quakes M2+497 quakes M3+371 quakes M4+53 quakes M5+3 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Tokyo, Japan | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, November 27, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Nov 28, 2022 8:52 am (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 23:52 GMT)
2.5

56 km
North Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Kashima-shi, Ibaraki, Japan More
Nov 28, 2022 8:01 am (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 23:01 GMT)
3.8

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 28, 2022 6:59 am (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 21:59 GMT)
2.5

63 km
North Pacific Ocean, 271 km south of Tokyo, Japan More
Nov 28, 2022 6:52 am (GMT +10) (Nov 27, 2022 20:52 GMT)
5.0

10 km
North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands
I FELT IT
More
Nov 28, 2022 4:11 am (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 19:11 GMT)
2.7

8.8 km
14 km northeast of Gobō, Wakayama, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 28, 2022 12:13 am (GMT +10) (Nov 27, 2022 14:13 GMT)
3.8

102 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 9:13 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 12:13 GMT)
2.5

68 km
2.9 km east of Chiba, Japan More
Nov 27, 2022 8:54 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 11:54 GMT)
2.7

24 km
Philippine Sea, 96 km south of Tanabe, Wakayama, Japan More
Nov 27, 2022 12:49 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 27, 2022 03:49 GMT)
2.7

13 km
Philippine Sea, 21 km south of Handa, Aichi, Japan More
Saturday, November 26, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
Nov 27, 2022 8:23 am (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 23:23 GMT)
2.8

32 km
North Pacific Ocean, 19 km northeast of Hasaki, Chōshi-shi, Chiba, Japan More
Nov 27, 2022 6:00 am (GMT +10) (Nov 26, 2022 20:00 GMT)
4.9

16 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 2:45 am (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 17:45 GMT)
4.9

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 1:06 am (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 16:06 GMT)
3.0

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 19 km northeast of Hasaki, Chōshi-shi, Chiba, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 27, 2022 12:17 am (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 15:17 GMT)
4.5

305 km
Philippine Sea, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 8:15 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 11:15 GMT)
2.6

60 km
North Pacific Ocean, 10.9 km east of Kamogawa, Chiba, Japan More
Nov 26, 2022 6:32 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 09:32 GMT)
2.7

9.3 km
Honshu, 12 km south of Chino, Nagano, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 4:52 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 07:52 GMT)
3.0

53 km
Chiba, 36 km southeast of Tokyo, Japan
I FELT IT
More
Nov 26, 2022 3:09 pm (GMT +9) (Nov 26, 2022 06:09 GMT)
2.7

31 km
25 km south of Numazu, Prefectura de Shizuoka, Japan More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.2 x 1012 joules (1.46 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1254 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ibaraki Yasato (JYT/JP network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ibaraki Yasato: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Tokyo Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tokyo?

The last earthquake in Tokyo occurred 6 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.5 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Kashima-shi, Ibaraki, Japan, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 8:52 am (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Tokyo in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Tokyo, Japan had 18 quakes up to magnitude 5.0.

What was the strongest quake in Tokyo in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Tokyo in the past 48 hours occurred 9 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.0 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, Northern Mariana Islands, on Monday, Nov 28, 2022 at 6:52 am (GMT +10).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings