Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Sichuan, China, in the past 48 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 10:18 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.5 | 28 km S of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Sichuan, China (updated )

Past 24 hours1 quake0 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 7 days10 quakes1 quake M2+4 quakes M3+4 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 30 days19 quakes2 quakes M2+10 quakes M3+6 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days28 quakes3 quakes M2+11 quakes M3+13 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 365 days645 quakes563 quakes M2+19 quakes M3+55 quakes M4+7 quakes M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Sichuan, China | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (10 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 27, 2023 1:11 am (GMT +8) (Jan 26, 2023 17:11 GMT)
3.1

8 km
42 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 GMT (9 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 7:21 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 23:21 GMT)
4.9

10 km
30 km southeast of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:22 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 21:22 GMT)
3.2

8 km
40 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 5:19 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 21:19 GMT)
4.4

10 km
25 km southeast of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:57 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 20:57 GMT)
4.0

10 km
39 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:51 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 20:51 GMT)
3.6

11 km
44 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:30 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 20:30 GMT)
3.2

12 km
43 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 4:03 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 20:03 GMT)
2.9

9 km
42 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:50 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 19:50 GMT)
4.5

10 km
40 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 3:49 am (GMT +8) (Jan 25, 2023 19:49 GMT)
5.5

10 km
28 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China
I FELT IT - 5 reports
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1013 joules (3.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3186 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Son La Vietnam (SLV/RM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Son La Vietnam: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Sichuan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Sichuan?

The last earthquake in Sichuan occurred 17 hours ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - 42 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China, on Friday, Jan 27, 2023 at 1:11 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Sichuan in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Sichuan, China had 10 quakes up to magnitude 5.5.

What was the strongest quake in Sichuan in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Sichuan in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 14 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.5 earthquake - 28 km south of Kandin, Garzê, Sichuan, China, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 3:49 am (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings