Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Xinjiang, China, in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 13:37 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 8 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 23 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3

Latest quake: Mag. 3.0 | Xinjiang, 151 km SE of Osh, Kyrgyzstan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | 243 km SE of Aral, Xinjiang, China -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Xinjiang, China (updated )

Past 24 hours28 quakes3 quakes M2+20 quakes M3+5 quakes M4+
Past 7 days47 quakes4 quakes M2+28 quakes M3+15 quakes M4+
Past 30 days365 quakes30 quakes M2+181 quakes M3+150 quakes M4+
Past 90 days1,105 quakes103 quakes M2+517 quakes M3+468 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days4,640 quakes554 quakes M2+2,193 quakes M3+1,782 quakes M4+17 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Xinjiang, China | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (35 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (13 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 3:51 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 07:51 GMT)
3.0

10 km
Xinjiang, 151 km southeast of Osh, Kyrgyzstan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 1:14 pm (GMT +6) (Dec 2, 2022 07:14 GMT)
2.5

10 km
51 km northeast of Kegen, Raiymbek District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan More
Dec 2, 2022 2:44 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 06:44 GMT)
3.7

10 km
Kazakhstan, 128 km north of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 2:43 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 06:43 GMT)
3.5

10 km
10.4 km southeast of Baijiantan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 10:56 am (GMT +6) (Dec 2, 2022 04:56 GMT)
3.2

10 km
16 km north of Zaysan, East Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 12:50 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 04:50 GMT)
3.8

10 km
117 km west of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 8:31 am (GMT +5) (Dec 2, 2022 03:31 GMT)
4.7

196 km
33 km north of Gilgit, Pakistan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 10:56 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 02:56 GMT)
4.5

10 km
153 km east of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 9:46 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 01:46 GMT)
3.8

10 km
85 km southwest of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 6:59 am (GMT +6) (Dec 2, 2022 00:59 GMT)
2.7

10 km
46 km north of Сарканд, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan More
Dec 2, 2022 8:53 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 00:53 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Kazakhstan, 147 km north of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 8:31 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 00:31 GMT)
3.6

10 km
50 km southwest of Chotan, Hotan Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 8:21 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 00:21 GMT)
4.6

10 km
167 km north of Chotan, Hotan Diqu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (22 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 6:35 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:35 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Kazakhstan, 138 km northeast of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 6:27 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:27 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Kazakhstan, 137 km northeast of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 6:06 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 22:06 GMT)
3.1

10 km
94 km southeast of Qapqal, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 2:02 am (GMT +5) (Dec 1, 2022 21:02 GMT)
3.2

10 km
Azad Kashmir, Pakistan, 36 km southwest of Bāramūla, Kashmir North, India
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:56 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 20:56 GMT)
3.5

10 km
104 km west of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:45 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 20:45 GMT)
3.2

10 km
113 km northwest of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 4:10 am (GMT +8) (Dec 1, 2022 20:10 GMT)
3.4

10 km
41 km north of Yining, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 1:51 am (GMT +6) (Dec 1, 2022 19:51 GMT)
3.3

10 km
98 km southeast of Kegen, Raiymbek District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.9 x 1012 joules (1.09 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 935 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Podgonoye, Kazakstan (PDGK/KZ network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Podgonoye, Kazakstan: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Xinjiang Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Xinjiang?

The last earthquake in Xinjiang occurred 6 hours ago: Light mag. 3.0 earthquake - Xinjiang, 151 km southeast of Osh, Kyrgyzstan, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 3:51 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Xinjiang in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Xinjiang, China had 35 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in Xinjiang in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Xinjiang in the past 48 hours occurred 23 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - 243 km southeast of Aral, Xinjiang, China, on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 11:04 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings