Latest quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, August 18, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 18, 2022 00:53 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 4 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, National Capital Region had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.0 | South China Sea, 8.4 km W of San Antonio, Philippines -

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.7 | South China Sea, 96 km SW of San Antonio, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near National Capital Region, Philippines (updated )

Past 24 hours:2 quakes | 2 quakes M2+
Past 7 days:47 quakes | 20 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:168 quakes | 80 quakes M2+ | 17 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:565 quakes | 272 quakes M2+ | 42 quakes M3+ | 13 quakes M4+ | 0 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
Past 365 days:2,577 quakes | 1,428 quakes M2+ | 182 quakes M3+ | 36 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near National Capital Region, Philippines | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 7:00 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 11:00 GMT)
2.0

32 km
South China Sea, 8.4 km west of San Antonio, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 9:47 am (GMT +8) (Aug 17, 2022 01:47 GMT)
2.7

1 km
South China Sea, 96 km southwest of San Antonio, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, August 16, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Aug 17, 2022 6:49 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 22:49 GMT)
2.2

114 km
South China Sea, 22 km west of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 6:36 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 22:36 GMT)
1.9

136 km
South China Sea, 14 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 17, 2022 12:34 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 16:34 GMT)
1.2

72 km
South China Sea, 14 km west of Calatagan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 8:53 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 12:53 GMT)
1.6

32 km
20 km northeast of Masinloc, Province of Zambales, Central Luzon, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 6:33 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 10:33 GMT)
1.6

101 km
South China Sea, 12 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Aug 16, 2022 10:54 am (GMT +8) (Aug 16, 2022 02:54 GMT)
2.0

97 km
South China Sea, 25 km southwest of Balayan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 109 joules (289 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.249 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

National Capital Region Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in National Capital Region?

The last earthquake in National Capital Region occurred 14 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - South China Sea, 8.4 km west of San Antonio, Philippines, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 7:00 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in National Capital Region in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, National Capital Region, Philippines had 8 quakes up to magnitude 2.7.

What was the strongest quake in National Capital Region in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in National Capital Region in the past 48 hours occurred 23 hours ago: Light mag. 2.7 earthquake - South China Sea, 96 km southwest of San Antonio, Philippines, on Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022 at 9:47 am (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings