Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in the South Atlantic Ocean region in the past 48 hours on Friday, December 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 2, 2022 12:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 21 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.3 | 187 km NW of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.4 | South Atlantic Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in the South Atlantic Ocean region (updated )

Past 24 hours26 quakes11 quakes M2+12 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+
Past 7 days213 quakes106 quakes M2+79 quakes M3+24 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 30 days850 quakes360 quakes M2+348 quakes M3+112 quakes M4+26 quakes M5+2 quakes M6+
Past 90 days2,515 quakes921 quakes M2+1,099 quakes M3+406 quakes M4+78 quakes M5+7 quakes M6+
Past 365 days13,597 quakes6,079 quakes M2+5,570 quakes M3+1,571 quakes M4+287 quakes M5+20 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (50 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (16 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 5:59 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 08:59 GMT)
3.3

243 km
187 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:49 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 08:49 GMT)
2.9

128 km
94 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile More
Dec 2, 2022 3:19 am (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 08:19 GMT)
4.0

38 km
34 km northwest of Sullana, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:33 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 06:33 GMT)
3.1

223 km
154 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 3:08 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 06:08 GMT)
2.8

108 km
23 km north of Chimbas, San Juan, Argentina More
Dec 2, 2022 3:06 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 06:06 GMT)
2.6

112 km
82 km west of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina More
Dec 1, 2022 11:43 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 2, 2022 04:43 GMT)
3.6

25 km
South Pacific Ocean, 166 km northwest of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 1:32 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 04:32 GMT)
3.0

107 km
22 km north of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 12:44 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 03:44 GMT)
3.3

15 km
58 km south of San Martin, Mendoza, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 12:21 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 03:21 GMT)
2.7

11 km
67 km northwest of Mendoza, Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina More
Dec 2, 2022 12:05 am (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 03:05 GMT)
2.7

137 km
13 km northeast of Fiambala, Departamento de Tinogasta, Catamarca, Argentina More
Dec 1, 2022 11:31 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 02:31 GMT)
2.5

103 km
Cordoba, 46 km northwest of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina More
Dec 1, 2022 10:52 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 01:52 GMT)
4.4

122 km
47 km north of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 10:10 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 01:10 GMT)
2.7

63 km
82 km east of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile More
Dec 1, 2022 9:36 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 00:36 GMT)
3.6

114 km
26 km south of San José de Jachal, Departamento de Jachal, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 9:04 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 2, 2022 00:04 GMT)
3.6

138 km
148 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (21 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 6:47 pm (GMT -5) (Dec 1, 2022 23:47 GMT)
2.5

20 km
South Pacific Ocean, 30 km northwest of Valparaiso, Region de Valparaiso, Chile More
Dec 1, 2022 7:56 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 22:56 GMT)
2.6

59 km
48 km south of Ovalle, Provincia de Limari, Coquimbo Region, Chile More
Dec 1, 2022 5:03 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 20:03 GMT)
3.0

96 km
61 km northeast of Ciudad de San Juan, Departamento de Capital, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:43 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 17:43 GMT)
3.5

118 km
98 km west of Pocito, San Juan, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Dec 1, 2022 2:33 pm (GMT -3) (Dec 1, 2022 17:33 GMT)
3.1

77 km
101 km southeast of Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.9 x 1012 joules (2.47 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2125 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

South Atlantic Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in the South Atlantic Ocean region?

The last earthquake in the South Atlantic Ocean region occurred 3 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.3 earthquake - 187 km northwest of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 5:59 am (GMT -3).

How many quakes were there in the South Atlantic Ocean region in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, South Atlantic Ocean had 50 quakes up to magnitude 5.4.

What was the strongest quake in the South Atlantic Ocean region in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in the South Atlantic Ocean region in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 1 hours ago: Strong mag. 5.4 earthquake - South Atlantic Ocean on Thursday, Dec 1, 2022 at 10:02 am (GMT -1).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings