Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Shefa Province, Vanuatu, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 4, 2022 01:32 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 17 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 117 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 717 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | Coral Sea, 41 km S of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.9 | 99 km SW of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (851 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 27, 2022 12:59 pm (GMT +11) (Nov 27, 2022 01:59 GMT)
5.0

30 km
77 km (48 mi)Coral Sea, 41 km south of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Aug 14, 2022 2:11 pm (GMT +11) (Aug 14, 2022 03:11 GMT)
5.9

10 km
94 km (58 mi)Coral Sea, 33 km south of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 6 reportsMore
Aug 14, 2022 12:02 am (GMT +11) (Aug 13, 2022 13:02 GMT)
5.7

10 km
90 km (56 mi)Coral Sea, 35 km south of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 9 reportsMore
Aug 7, 2022 2:25 am (GMT +11) (Aug 6, 2022 15:25 GMT)
5.0

10 km
70 km (43 mi)Coral Sea, 40 km south of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 11 reportsMore
Jul 12, 2022 8:10 am (GMT +11) (Jul 11, 2022 21:10 GMT)
6.0

10 km
71 km (44 mi)Coral Sea, 84 km southeast of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 2 reportsMore
Jul 12, 2022 8:06 am (GMT +11) (Jul 11, 2022 21:06 GMT)
5.7

10 km
72 km (45 mi)Coral Sea, 88 km southeast of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 2 reportsMore
Jun 21, 2022 6:09 am (GMT +11) (Jun 20, 2022 19:09 GMT)
5.4

10 km
104 km (65 mi)Coral Sea, 105 km west of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
May 24, 2022 6:26 am (GMT +11) (May 23, 2022 19:26 GMT)
5.6

10 km
96 km (60 mi)Coral Sea, 110 km northwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu More
May 11, 2022 12:18 am (GMT +11) (May 10, 2022 13:18 GMT)
5.6

10 km
84 km (52 mi)Coral Sea, 94 km northwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 2 reportsMore
May 6, 2022 7:15 am (GMT +11) (May 5, 2022 20:15 GMT)
5.6

20 km
73 km (45 mi)Coral Sea, 79 km northwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 7 reportsMore
Apr 16, 2022 1:22 am (GMT +11) (Apr 15, 2022 14:22 GMT)
5.3

10 km
30 km (19 mi)Coral Sea, 42 km northeast of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu More
Apr 5, 2022 3:06 am (GMT +11) (Apr 4, 2022 16:06 GMT)
6.0

24 km
51 km (32 mi)Coral Sea, 55 km northwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 13 reportsMore
Jan 5, 2022 12:08 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 5, 2022 01:08 GMT)
5.1

70 km
42 km (26 mi)Coral Sea, Vanuatu 20 reportsMore
Dec 21, 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +11) (Dec 21, 2021 01:34 GMT)
5.0

159 km
49 km (30 mi)Coral Sea, 86 km southeast of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
Aug 17, 2021 3:35 am (GMT +11) (Aug 16, 2021 16:35 GMT)
5.1

172 km
40 km (25 mi)Coral Sea, 91 km southeast of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
29 May 12:41 am (GMT +11) (May 28, 2021 13:41 GMT)
5.3

26 km
100 km (62 mi)Coral Sea, 52 km south of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu 2 reportsMore
6 May 11:20 pm (GMT +11) (May 6, 2021 12:20 GMT)
5.1

10 km
107 km (66 mi)Coral Sea, 58 km south of Norsup, Malampa Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
5 May 12:33 am (GMT +11) (May 4, 2021 13:33 GMT)
5.0

10 km
47 km (29 mi)Coral Sea, 45 km west of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu More
1 May 10:50 pm (GMT +11) (May 1, 2021 11:50 GMT)
5.2

181 km
33 km (21 mi)Coral Sea, 47 km east of Norsup, Malampa Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
Apr 8, 2021 12:13 pm (GMT +11) (Apr 8, 2021 01:13 GMT)
5.2

265 km
38 km (24 mi)Coral Sea, 151 km southeast of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu More
Mar 14, 2021 8:14 pm (GMT +11) (Mar 14, 2021 09:14 GMT)
5.2

10 km
68 km (42 mi)Coral Sea, 66 km northwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1017 joules (45271 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 3.9 x 107 tons of TNT or 2434.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Port Laguerre - New Caledonia, France (NOUC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Port Laguerre - New Caledonia, France: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Shefa Province Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Shefa Province?

The last earthquake in Shefa Province occurred 1 day 3 hours ago: Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - Coral Sea, 41 km south of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu, on Sunday, Nov 27, 2022 at 12:59 pm (GMT +11).

How many quakes were there in Shefa Province since 1900?

Since 1900, Shefa Province, Vanuatu had 851 quakes up to magnitude 7.9.

What was the strongest quake in Shefa Province since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Shefa Province since 1900 occurred 72 years ago: Major magnitude 7.9 earthquake - 99 km southwest of Port Vila, Shefa Province, Vanuatu, on Saturday, December 2, 1950 at 19:51 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings