Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Malampa Province, Vanuatu, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 7, 2023 05:16 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (15 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, January 15, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 15, 2023 11:04 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 15, 2023 12:04 GMT)
5.6

29 km
Coral Sea, 70 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
Jan 15, 2023 4:32 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 15, 2023 05:32 GMT)
5.2

24 km
23 km north of Pentecost Island, Penama Province, Vanuatu More
Saturday, January 14, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 15, 2023 1:31 am (GMT +11) (Jan 14, 2023 14:31 GMT)
5.1

10 km
75 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
Wednesday, January 11, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 11, 2023 7:39 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 11, 2023 08:39 GMT)
5.8

10 km
86 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 1 reportMore
Tuesday, January 10, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 10, 2023 4:24 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 10, 2023 05:24 GMT)
5.7

110 km
Coral Sea, 58 km north of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 2 reportsMore
Monday, January 9, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Jan 10, 2023 8:21 am (GMT +11) (Jan 9, 2023 21:21 GMT)
5.0

25 km
Coral Sea, 65 km west of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 9, 2023 12:48 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 9, 2023 01:48 GMT)
5.0

10 km
73 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 9, 2023 12:46 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 9, 2023 01:46 GMT)
5.2

10 km
Coral Sea, 84 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Sunday, January 8, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Jan 9, 2023 4:15 am (GMT +11) (Jan 8, 2023 17:15 GMT)
5.0

35 km
66 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 9, 2023 3:49 am (GMT +11) (Jan 8, 2023 16:49 GMT)
4.7

35 km
48 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 9, 2023 2:33 am (GMT +11) (Jan 8, 2023 15:33 GMT)
4.6

35 km
Coral Sea, 83 km west of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 9, 2023 12:50 am (GMT +11) (Jan 8, 2023 13:50 GMT)
4.7

35 km
64 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 9, 2023 12:24 am (GMT +11) (Jan 8, 2023 13:24 GMT)
4.8

35 km
Coral Sea, 52 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu More
Jan 8, 2023 11:32 pm (GMT +11) (Jan 8, 2023 12:32 GMT)
7.0

28 km
Coral Sea, 72 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu 16 reportsMore
Friday, February 3, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 4, 2023 4:54 am (GMT +11) (Feb 3, 2023 17:54 GMT)
5.2

121 km
Coral Sea, 38 km east of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1015 joules (580 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5 x 105 tons of TNT or 31.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Honiara, Solomon Islands (HNR/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Honiara, Solomon Islands: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Malampa Province Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Malampa Province?

The last earthquake in Malampa Province occurred 3 days ago: Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake - Coral Sea, 38 km east of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu, on Saturday, Feb 4, 2023 at 4:54 am (GMT +11).

How many quakes were there in Malampa Province past month?

In the past 30 days, Malampa Province, Vanuatu had 15 quakes up to magnitude 7.0.

What was the strongest quake in Malampa Province past month?

The strongest earthquake in Malampa Province past month occurred 4 weeks ago: Major magnitude 7.0 earthquake - Coral Sea, 72 km northwest of Santo, Luganville, Sanma Province, Vanuatu, on Sunday, Jan 8, 2023 at 11:32 pm (GMT +11).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings